South Carolina Legislative Manual Editors

Charles F. Reid, Nov. 1, 2019– Patrick Dennis, Apr. 1, 2019–Nov. 1, 2019 Charles F. Reid, 2005–Mar. 30, 2019 Sandra K. McKinney, 1989–04 Lois T. Shealy, 1979–88 Sylvia W. Risher, 1973–78 Inez Watson, 1943–44, 1952–72; Co-Editor, 1945–51 James E. Hunter, Jr., 1935–42; Co-Editor, 1945–51 J. Wilson Gibbes, Sr., Author, 1916–34

The first edition of the South Carolina Legislative Manual was issued on Feb. 4, 1916 on the initiative of J. Wilson Gibbes, the author. It contained 117 pages. Since then it has been published every year during the legislative sessions except 1922, 1926, 1928, and 1932—the present issue being the 104th.

Biographies of Members and State Officers were added in 1919, and in 1925 their pictures were first used.

The Manual is original and authentic—its contents are compiled from special day-to-day files, personal research work, and data prepared for it exclusively by officials and heads of departments. Every effort is made to preserve the truth of history by precision and correctness.