## Speakers *Pro Tempore* of South Carolina 1913–2025

(Original information compiled from Biographical Directory of the S.C. House of Representatives Volume 1: Session Lists 1692–1973; Biographical Directory of the S.C. Senate 1776–1985, Volumes 1 & 2; Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774–1989; Journals of the S.C. House of Representatives 1914, 1925, 1951, 1957, and 1992; S.C. Legislative Manuals 1973–2016 by Steven D. Tuttle, S.C. Department of Archives and History, July 22, 2016, and maintained by each Clerk thereafter.)

- Richard Smith Whaley, Charleston County (D) 1913—(Began serving in U.S. House of Representatives Apr. 29, 1913.)
- Cyril Thomas Wyche, Newberry County (D) 1914—(1914 last year he served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- George Sewell Mower, Newberry County (D) 1915–1916— (Did not serve in S.C. House of Representatives during the 1917–1918 Session.)
- Joseph Andrew Berry, Orangeburg County (D) 1917–1920— (1920 last year he served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- John Buford Atkinson, Spartanburg County (D) 1921— (Elected Speaker of the S.C. House of Representatives Feb. 1, 1921.)
- Thomas Sanders McMillan, Charleston County (D) 1921–1922— (Began serving as Speaker of S.C. House of Representatives in 1923.)
- John Knapp Hamblin, Union County (D) 1923–1924—(Not nominated for Speaker *Pro Tempore* in 1925.)
- Taylor Hudnall Stukes, Clarendon County (D) 1925–1926— (1926 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- John Brawner Duffie, Sumter County (D) 1927–1928—(1928 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- William Wightman Smoak, Colleton County (D) 1929–1930— (Did not serve again in S.C. House of Representatives until 1935.)

- Faber Wessinger Kearse, Bamberg County (D) 1931–1932— (Did not serve again in S.C. House of Representatives until 1935.)
- Claude Ambrose Taylor, Spartanburg County (D) 1933–1934— (Began serving as Speaker of S.C. House of Representatives in 1935.)
- Solomon Blatt, Barnwell County (D) 1935–1936—(Began serving as Speaker of S.C. House of Representatives in 1937.)
- John Wilfred Dedrich Zerbst, Charleston County (D) 1937–1941— (Resigned June 2, 1941, when appointed Auditor of Charleston County.)
- Claude Ambrose Taylor, Spartanburg County (D) 1941–1944– (Elected Associate Justice of S.C. Supreme Court Jan. 13, 1944.)
- Marion Fenton Winter, Berkeley County (D) 1944–1946— (1946 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- James Brown Morrison, Georgetown County (D) 1947–1948— (1948 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- Delmar Newlin Rivers, Jasper County (D) 1949–1950—(Not nominated for Speaker Pro Tempore in 1951.)
- Ernest Frederick Hollings, Charleston County (D) 1951–1954— (Elected Lieutenant Governor Nov. 2, 1954.)
- Tracey Jackson Gaines, Spartanburg County (D) 1955–1956— (Not nominated for Speaker *Pro Tempore* in 1957.)
- Rex Lyle Carter, Greenville County (D) 1957–1973—(Began serving as Speaker of the S.C. House of Representatives Aug. 1, 1973.)
- James Clator Arrants, Kershaw County (D) 1973–1976— (Resigned as Speaker *Pro Tempore* June 1, 1976.)
- Ramon Schwartz, Jr., Sumter County (D) 1976–1980—(Began serving as Speaker of the S.C. House of Representatives in 1981.)
- Michael Roland Daniel, Cherokee County (D) 1980–1982– (Began serving as Lieutenant Governor in 1983.)
- William Sterling Anderson, Spartanburg County (D) 1982–1986— (1986 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- John Irby Rogers, Marlboro County (D) 1986–1990—(1990 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)

- David Muldrow Beasley, Darlington County (D) 1991, (R) 1992—(Retired from S.C. House of Representatives June 4, 1992.)
- David Horton Wilkins, Greenville County (R) 1992–1994— (Began serving as Speaker of S.C. House of Representatives Dec. 6, 1994.)
- Terry Edward Haskins, Greenville County (R) 1994–2000– (Served until his death Oct. 24, 2000.)
- William Douglas Smith, Spartanburg County (R) 2000–2008— (2008 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- Harry Franklin Cato, Greenville County (R) 2008–2010— (2010 last year served in S.C. House of Representatives.)
- James Howle Lucas, Darlington County (R) 2010–2014— (Elected Speaker of the S.C. House of Representatives Dec. 2, 2014.)
- Thomas Elbert Pope, York County (R) 2014– (Elected Speaker *Pro Tempore* on Dec. 2, 2014.)