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Document No. 2263

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER 43

Statutory Authority: 1976 Code Section 56-23-20, 56-23-85 & 59-39-320

43-242. Driver Training.

Synopsis:
Since 1977, changes in state law have had direct impact on driver education.  The Education Finance Act, Section 59-20-10, eliminated the separate line item for driver education reimbursement.  Teacher requirements for the driver education endorsement were increased in 1980.  The Department of Public Safety, Motor Vehicle Division, under Section 56-23-85, issues the behind-the-wheel instructor's permit.  The proposed amendments would bring the program in conformance with current state law.

Instructions:  Please amend R. 43-242, Driver Training, to read as follows.

Text:

R. 43-242. Driver Training.

A school program shall include the complete program of driver education, classroom and behind-the-wheel phases, and it shall be provided each semester on an elective basis for eligible students.  Schools organized on grades 9-12 or 10-12 basis shall provide this program.

Summer programs of driver education are permissible and recommended but may not be substituted for the regular school year program.

1.
The course shall be organized on a semester basis and shall include as a minimum 30 classroom hours of instruction in driver education, 6 hours of actual behind-the-wheel driving, and 6 hours of actual observation.  Twelve hours of simulation instruction may replace 3 hours of behind-the-wheel driving.

2.
Behind-the-wheel driving refers to actual experiences in road instruction with the student as the driver with the teacher present.

Behind-the-wheel instruction shall include the following:


a.  Actual experience in driving a properly marked automobile.  It is required that a dual-control automobile be used.


b.
A minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel practice driving with a certified driving instructor.  Twelve hours of simulation instruction may replace 3 hours of behind-the-wheel driving.

3.  The instructional materials shall be selected from the list of state adopted instructional materials list for driver education.

4.  Driver education must be offered at a grade level that complies with Section 8 of the Highway Safety Act (R-521, Act No. 362 of 1965).  It is recommended that the course be offered at the grade level where most of the students have or are approaching legal driving age, which is the ninth grade.  However, the course may be offered in any grade 9-12.  The course shall be limited to students whose physical and mental condition gives reasonable promise of being able to pass the requirements of the State Highway Department for a driver's license.

5.  The teacher must (a) hold a valid South Carolina teacher's certificate, (b) be certified to teach driver education, (c) have completed successfully a basic and advanced driver and traffic education instructor's course, (d) have a good personal driving record, (e) hold a valid South Carolina driver's license, and (f) hold a valid behind-the-wheel instructor permit.

6.
All school districts operating driver education programs must have liability insurance as required by State Law.  The Board recommends that medical expense insurance be obtained for drivers and passengers in an amount to be determined by the school district or county.

Fiscal Impact Statement:

The SC Department of Education estimates that there will be no additional costs incurred by the State and its political subdivisions in complying with the proposed amendment.

