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Document No. 2631

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 28

Statutory Authority: 1976 Code Section 40-68-20
Staff Leasing Services.

Synopsis:  

Based on the Department of Consumer Affairs’ review of the current Regulations for Staff Leasing Services and input from the regulated community, the Department proposes to amend the Regulations by revising existing Regulations 28-910, 28-920, 28-940, 28-955, and 28-990.  The Department also proposes to amend the Regulations by adopting new Regulations 28-915, 28-933, 28-936, and 28-956.  The proposed amendments are intended to update the Regulations in order to make them more effective in regulating the staff leasing services industry.

Discussion of Revisions

28-910.  Application Procedure; Application Form; Confidential Information; Denial of Application; Request for Hearing; Positive Net Worth.

The Department proposes to amend Regulation 28-910 to change the Department’s office address where applicants may visit to obtain application materials.  The Department’s new office address is 3600 Forest Drive, Third Floor, Columbia, S.C. 29204.  The proposed amendments will also clarify the Department’s procedures for handling incomplete/deficient applications by establishing a time limit of 90 days from the date of notification by the Department by which applicants must complete or correct application materials without penalty.  

28-920.  Annual Assessment on Gross South Carolina Payroll.

The Department proposes to amend Regulation 28-920 to change the type of documentation required from licensees to verify gross South Carolina payroll for annual assessment purposes.  Under the proposed amendment, licensees will be required to submit to the Department copies of all South Carolina Department of Revenue “Fourth Quarter/Annual Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld”, form WH-1606, forms.  Additionally, the proposed amendment will establish a late payment penalty of $150.00 for assessment fees submitted after the April 30 deadline.

R28-940.  Quarterly Financial Reporting and Maintenance of Positive Working Capital.

The Department proposes to amend Regulation 28-940 to assess a late reporting fee of $50.00  for quarterly reports that are submitted after the established deadlines without the Department’s prior approval.   

R28-955.  Restricted License.

Amendments to Regulation 28-955 are proposed to exempt applicants who are qualified and approved for a restricted license from normal requirements for licensure.  The proposed amendment will also clarify the term of the restricted license (1 year), and the corresponding licensing fees ($250.00 for a staff leasing services company and $500.00 for a staff leasing services group).  

R28-990.  Disciplinary Guidelines.

An amendment to Regulation 28-990 is proposed to establish disciplinary guidelines for client companies that knowingly do business with unlicensed staff leasing companies.  Under the proposed amendment, client companies may be imposed a penalty of $50.00 per employee for each day the violation continues.

R28-915.  License Renewal Procedures.  Inactive License Renewal.

The Department proposes to draft Regulation 28-915 to establish license renewal procedures and to establish penalties for active licensees who fail to renew their license.  The new regulation will require licensees to submit renewal applications within 60 days of the license’s expiration date.  A license that is not renewed shall automatically become delinquent.  In addition, under Regulation 28-915, the period of time that a licensee can operate without renewing their license will be limited to 30 days from the license’s expiration date.  Licenses delinquent for a period of 30 days or less will be assessed a delinquent fee of $300.00.  Licenses delinquent more than 30 days shall become void without further action by the Department.  

R28-933.  Annual Audited Financial Statements.

The Department also proposes to draft Regulation 28-933 to require annual audited financial statements be submitted to the Department for staff leasing companies with $7,500,000.00 or more in gross South Carolina payroll.

R28-936.  Annual Reviewed Financial Statements.

The Department proposes to draft Regulation 28-936 to allow reviewed financial statements to be submitted for staff leasing companies with less than $7,500,000.00 in gross South Carolina payroll.  

R28-956.  Notification of Limited Operation.

The Department proposes to draft Regulation 28-956 to outline the requirements for certain staff leasing companies that meet specific requirements to operate in the State by notification only.   In addition, this regulation will establish a notification service fee in the amount of $250.00 for those companies that are approved to operate in this capacity.

Instructions:  Amend staff leasing regulations pursuant to each individual instruction provided with the text of the amendment below.

Text:

R28-910.  Application Procedure; Application Form; Confidential Information; Denial of Application; Request for Hearing; Positive Net Worth.

Replace 28-910 (1) to read:


(1) A person may not engage in or offer staff leasing services in South Carolina without holding a license issued under Title 40.  Applicants for licensure licensure as a staff leasing person or as a controlling person shall file a completed application on Form DCA/SL001, “Application for Licensure as a Staff Leasing Company or Controlling Person”, effective January 1, 1994.  The form, together with its attached instructions for completing the form, is incorporated herein by reference and may be obtained from the Department’s office at 3600 Forest Drive, Third Floor, Columbia, S.C.  29204.  For purposes of this rule, an application is complete when all items on the application have been fully answered, the applicant has paid the application fee specified in subsection (2), and has submitted all attendant documentation, certifications, fingerprint cards, explanations of answers, and other items specified in the form and its attached instructions. Applicants shall cure all deficiencies in their application noted by the Department within 90 days from the date of the letter notifying the applicant or the application will be denied as an incomplete application.  Applicants who have not cured all deficiencies within 90 days will be required to re-file with the Department a complete written application accompanied by the non-refundable application fee specified in subsection (2).

R28-915. License Renewal Procedures.  Inactive License Renewal.

Add new regulation 28-915 to read:


(1) Licensee’s shall submit renewal applications to the Department within 60 days of the expiration date of the current license.


(2) In the event any licensee fails to renew the license, the license shall automatically become delinquent.  A license delinquent 30 days or less may be returned to active status by the payment of the biennial license renewal fee plus a delinquent fee of $300.00.


(3) A license delinquent more than 30 days shall become void without further action by the Department.

R28-920. Annual Assessment on Gross South Carolina Payroll.

Replace 28-920 (2) to read:  


(2) In order to ensure compliance with the requirements of subsection (1), each licensee shall annually submit a statement of total gross South Carolina payroll, along with copies of all South Carolina Department of Revenue “Fourth Quarter/Annual Reconciliation of Income Tax Withheld”, form WH-1606, forms for the preceding calendar year.

Add new Section (4) to 28-920 to read:


(4) Licensees who do not submit assessment fees to the department by the April 30 deadline must pay the assessment fee plus a late penalty fee of $150.00.

R28-933. Annual Audited Financial Statements.  

Add new regulation 28-933 to read:


(1) For each staff leasing company or staff leasing company group with gross South Carolina payroll of $7,500,000.00 or more, annual audited financial statements must be submitted to the Department.


(2) For any fiscal year beginning January 1, 2000, and for every subsequent fiscal year, audited financial statements must be submitted to the Department within 120 days of the licensee’s fiscal year end.  For purposes of this rule, “submitted” means that the audited financial statement must be postmarked within 120 days of the end of the fiscal year.


(3) All audited financial statements must be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), and generally accepted auditing standards (GAAS) must be used.  All financial statements must be prepared in a manner prescribed by the Department.

R28-936. Annual Reviewed Financial Statements.  

Add new regulation 28-936 to read:


(1) For each staff leasing company or staff leasing company group with gross South Carolina payroll of less than $7,500,000.00, annual reviewed financial statements or higher level of assurance must be submitted to the Department.


(2) For any fiscal year beginning January 1, 2000, and for every subsequent fiscal year, reviewed financial statements must be submitted to the Department within 120 days of the licensee’s fiscal year end.  For purposes of this rule, “submitted” means that the reviewed financial statement must be postmarked within 120 days of the end of the fiscal year.


(3) All reviewed financial statements must be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), and AICPA Statements of Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS).  
R28-940. Quarterly Financial Reporting and the Maintenance of Positive Working Capital.  

Replace 28-940 (1) to read:


(1) In order to be in compliance with the net worth requirements of Section 40-68-40(E), S.C.S., licensed staff leasing companies and staff leasing groups are required to file a quarterly financial attestation with the department.  This quarterly attestation report (DCA/SL002) shall be executed by the chief financial officer, the chief executive officer, and a controlling person of the staff leasing company.  Copies of the current quarter’s balance sheet and income statement shall be submitted with the quarterly financial attestation report.  Quarterly financial statements are due to be submitted to the department within 75 days after the end of each quarter.  Quarterly financial reports that are submitted late without prior approval from the Department will be assessed a late reporting fee of $50.00.  The following attestations will be made in the quarterly report.

28-955. Restricted License.

Add new Section (4) to 28-955 to read:


(4) Qualification and approval of a restricted license will exempt the company from other normal requirements for licensure.  The annual fee for a limited license shall be $250.00 for a staff leasing company and $500.00 for a staff leasing services group.

28-956. Notification of Limited Operation.

Add new regulation 29-956 to read:


(1) Upon written notification to the Department, a non-resident staff leasing company may assign, without a license, employees to client operations in South Carolina under the following conditions: 



(a) The staff leasing company’s state of residence (home state) does not regulate or license staff leasing services.



(b) The staff leasing company will not solicit or engage in staff leasing services in South Carolina.



(c) The client company is in the start-up phase for new operations in South Carolina.



(d) The total number of assigned employees for all clients will not exceed forty.



(e) The staff leasing company notifies the Department in writing by completing the proper notification form and by submitting a $250.00 notification service fee.

28-990. Disciplinary Guidelines.

Add new Section (6) to 28-990 to read:


(6) Any client company, which knowingly does business with an unlicensed employee leasing company, may be fined by the department up to $50.00 per employee for each day the violation continues.

Fiscal Impact Statement:  

There will be no additional cost incurred by the State and its political subdivisions in complying with the final regulations.

