#### Executive Order No. 2019-34

**WHEREAS,** on August 31, 2019, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 2019-26, declaring a State of Emergency due to the significant threat posed by Hurricane Dorian; and

WHEREAS, upon consultation with state and local agencies and officials, the undersigned determined that it was necessary to evacuate healthcare facilities and persons in specified Evacuation Zones in Jasper County, Beaufort County, Colleton County, Charleston County, Dorchester County, Berkeley County, Georgetown County, and Horry County to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located in the threatened areas; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with section 25-1-440 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, as amended, and other applicable law, on September 1, 2019, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 2019-27, ordering a mandatory medical evacuation, effective immediately, and Executive Order No. 2019-28, ordering a general population evacuation, effective at noon, September 2, 2019, for the following Evacuation Zones: Jasper (Zone A), Beaufort (Zone A), Colleton (Zones A and B), Charleston (Zones A, B, and C), Dorchester (Zone D), Berkeley (Zones B and G), Georgetown (Zone A), and Horry (Zone A); and

WHEREAS, in addition to the foregoing, on September 1, 2019, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 2019-29, ordering the closure of state government offices and public schools, to include state-supported colleges, universities, and technical colleges, in the counties subject to, or including certain areas subject to, evacuation in accordance with Executive Order No. 2019-28, beginning September 2, 2019, and until further notice; and

WHEREAS, on September 5, 2019, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 2019-30, rescinding the applicable mandatory medical evacuation and general population evacuation orders for the above-referenced Evacuation Zones in Beaufort County, Jasper County, and Colleton County, as well as the order closing state government offices and public schools in said counties, and modifying and amending the corresponding provisions of Executive Order No. 2019-27, Executive Order No. 2019-28, and Executive Order No. 2019-29; and

WHEREAS, on September 6, 2019, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 2019-31, rescinding the applicable mandatory medical evacuation and general population evacuation orders for the above-referenced Evacuation Zones in Charleston County, Dorchester County, Berkeley County, Georgetown County, and Horry County, as well as the order closing state government offices and public schools in said counties, and rescinding all remaining provisions of Executive Order No. 2019-27, Executive Order No. 2019-28, and Executive Order No. 2019-29, as modified and amended by Executive Order No. 2019-30, effective at 10:00 a.m. on September 6, 2019; and

WHEREAS, in rescinding the provisions of Executive Order No. 2019-29, which ordered the closure of state government offices and public schools in the counties subject to, or including certain areas subject to, evacuation in accordance with Executive Order No. 2019-28, the undersigned advised that state government offices should adhere to normal state procedure, following county government closures for hazardous weather conditions, and that public schools in the aforementioned counties should adhere to any applicable school district policies or directives in resuming regular activities; and

**WHEREAS,** as a result of the aforementioned State of Emergency and hazardous weather conditions associated with Hurricane Dorian, and in accordance with the cited Executive Orders, as well as the normal state procedure, state government offices in numerous counties throughout the State were closed or operated on an abbreviated schedule, or both, on one or more days during the period from September 2, 2019, through September 6, 2019, to ensure the safety of state employees and the general public; and

**WHEREAS,** section 8-11-57 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, as amended, provides, in pertinent part, that "whenever the Governor declares a state of emergency or orders all or some state offices closed due to hazardous weather conditions he may authorize up to five days leave with pay for affected state employees who are absent from work due to the state of emergency or the hazardous weather conditions."

**NOW, THEREFORE,** by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of South Carolina and pursuant to the Constitution and Laws of this State and the powers conferred upon me therein, I hereby order and direct as follows:

**Section 1.** I hereby authorize leave with pay for affected state employees, as set forth below, who were absent from work due to the State of Emergency and hazardous weather conditions associated with Hurricane Dorian, whether pursuant to the aforementioned Executive Orders or in accordance with the directive for state government offices to follow county government closures for hazardous weather conditions, in the following counties and on the following dates:

# **September 2, 2019:**

<u>Closed</u>: Beaufort County, Berkeley County, Charleston County, Colleton County, Dorchester County, Georgetown County, Horry County, Jasper County

# **September 3, 2019:**

<u>Closed</u>: Beaufort County, Berkeley County, Charleston County, Colleton County, Dorchester County, Georgetown County, Horry County, Jasper County

## **September 4, 2019:**

<u>Closed</u>: Beaufort County, Berkeley County, Charleston County, Colleton County, Dorchester County, Georgetown County, Hampton County, Horry County, Jasper County

<u>Abbreviated Schedule</u>: Barnwell County (closed at 12:00 p.m.), Orangeburg County (closed at 1:00 p.m.), Williamsburg County (closed at 12:00 p.m.)

### **September 5. 2019:**

<u>Closed</u>: Allendale County, Bamberg County, Barnwell County, Beaufort County, Berkeley County, Calhoun County, Charleston County, Clarendon County, Colleton County, Darlington County, Dillon County, Dorchester County, Florence County, Georgetown County, Hampton County, Horry County, Jasper County, Lee County, Marion County, Marlboro County, Orangeburg County, Sumter County, Williamsburg County

## **September 6, 2019:**

<u>Closed</u>: Beaufort County, Berkeley County, Charleston County, Dorchester County, Horry County, Marion County

Abbreviated Schedule: Dillon County (opened at 10:00 a.m.), Georgetown County (opened at 10:00 a.m.), Williamsburg County (opened at 10:00 a.m.)

**Section 2.** In the event that county government offices in a county not listed above were closed or operated on an abbreviated schedule due to the aforementioned State of Emergency and hazardous weather conditions associated with Hurricane Dorian, I hereby authorize the Department of Administration to grant leave with pay for affected state employees who were absent from work as a result of the corresponding closure of state government offices and to administratively add the county to the list of covered closures.

This Order is effective immediately.

CAROLINA, THIS 2nd DAY OF OCTOBER, 2019.

HENRY MCMASTER Governor