## Executive Order No. 2020-04

**WHEREAS,** on February 6, 2020, a line of strong thunderstorms and severe weather moved across the State of South Carolina, which produced significant rainfall, extensive flooding, damaging winds and tornadoes, and other dangerous conditions; and

WHEREAS, due to the aforementioned hazardous weather conditions and resulting impacts, and in accordance with county government closures and the normal state procedure associated with the same, state government offices in numerous counties throughout the State were closed or operated on an abbreviated schedule to ensure the safety of state employees and the general public; and

**WHEREAS,** section 8-11-57 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, as amended, provides, in pertinent part, that "whenever the Governor declares a state of emergency or orders all or some state offices closed due to hazardous weather conditions he may authorize up to five days leave with pay for affected state employees who are absent from work due to the state of emergency or the hazardous weather conditions."

**NOW, THEREFORE,** by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of South Carolina and pursuant to the Constitution and Laws of this State and the powers conferred upon me therein, I hereby order and direct as follows:

**Section 1.** I hereby authorize leave with pay for affected state employees, as set forth below, who were absent from work due to the aforementioned hazardous weather conditions, and in accordance with the directive for state government offices to follow county government closures for hazardous weather conditions, in the following counties and on the following dates:

## February 6, 2020:

Abbreviated Schedule: Allendale County (closed at 3:00 p.m.), Barnwell County (closed at 2:00 p.m.), Calhoun County (closed at 1:30 p.m.), Florence County (closed at 2:30 p.m.), Fairfield County (closed at 2:30 p.m.), Kershaw County (closed at 2:30 p.m.), Lancaster County (closed at 2:30 p.m.), Lee County (closed at 3:00 p.m.), Pickens County (closed at 3:00 p.m.), Saluda County (closed at 2:00 p.m.), Sumter County (closed at 3:30 p.m.)

## February 7, 2020:

**Closed**: Abbeville County

**Section 2.** In the event that county government offices in a county not listed above were closed or operated on an abbreviated schedule due to the aforementioned hazardous weather conditions, I hereby authorize the South Carolina Department of Administration to grant leave with pay for affected state employees who were absent from work as a result of the corresponding closure of state government offices and to administratively add any such county to the list of covered closures.

This Order is effective immediately.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND THE GREAT SEAL OF THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA, THIS 19th DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2020.

HENRY MCMASTER Governor