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This report provides an overview of some of the session’s highlights, summarizing both proposals that passed the General Assembly and some that did not.  The measures included in this report are a sampling and are not intended to be comprehensive.

Major legislation is summarized here in a format which is intended to be more accessible than a simple reading of the bills, joint resolutions, and acts.  This report is a guide to, not a substitute for, the full text of the legislation summarized. 
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OVERVIEW OF THE 2000 

LEGISLATIVE SESSION
2000 Legislative Overview

In the midst of the national and international attention which centered on the state during the year 2000, the South Carolina General Assembly approved legislation which addresses the controversy surrounding the display of the Confederate Battle Flag at the State House.  The new law removes the Confederate Battle Flag from the Capitol dome and legislative chambers and provides for the display of the South Carolina Infantry Battle Flag of the Confederate States of America on a flagpole newly erected at the Confederate Soldier Monument on the State House grounds.  Official expression of state heritage was also at issue as lawmakers passed legislation revising the list of state holidays.  The act establishes official state employee holidays honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. on the third Monday in January and Confederate Memorial Day on May 10.  General Election Day is no longer a state holiday and the provision is eliminated under which state employees selected from a list of optional holidays or took a day of their own choosing.      

The 113th General Assembly placed particular emphasis on meeting the needs of South Carolina’s senior citizens. This year lawmakers created a program to provide financial assistance to senior citizens who cannot afford to purchase prescription drugs, but do not qualify for Medicaid prescription drug benefits.  The General Assembly also approved an increase in the homestead exemption amount from $20,000 to $50,000 for property tax year 2000 and thereafter.      

Tax relief for all South Carolinians emerged as a priority during the 2000 legislative year.  The General Assembly approved legislation allowing voters at November’s General Election to decide whether to amend the South Carolina Constitution so as to authorize a local government to decide, in a referendum, whether to reduce or eliminate personal property taxes on motor vehicles such as cars, motorcycles, aircraft, and boats and replace lost revenues with a new sales and use tax.  The General Assembly approved the first step in a proposal to phase out the sales tax collected on food.  Beginning in January 2001, the five percent sales tax currently collected on grocery food items is reduced to four percent.  The General Assembly expressed its intent to continue reducing the food sales tax a penny a year over the following four calendar years until the tax is eliminated.  Reductions in the food sales tax may not reduce General Fund appropriations supporting public schools.  Lawmakers also approved an annual sales tax holiday set in early August to assist families as they purchase clothes and supplies for the coming school year.  During the three days beginning with the first Friday in August, no sales tax is to be collected on such specified items as clothes, footwear, school supplies, and computers.   

Fiscal Year 2000-2001 appropriations emphasize education, allotting in excess of $470 million.  Legislators approved an additional $10 million for the First Steps to School Readiness Program which is designed to provide early childhood development and educational services to enable young children to reach school ready to learn.  School districts are required to formulate character education programs, and funds are appropriated to facilitate the initiative.  The General Assembly also approved an increase in the merit-based LIFE Scholarship from $2,000 to $3,000 for recipients attending four-year institutions of higher learning.  Under the new legislation, the LIFE Scholarship fully covers the cost of tuition for those attending two-year institutions and technical colleges.  

Lawmakers passed legislation designed to promote high teacher quality.  The legislation provides various incentives including a pay increase for teachers who obtain National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification, an honorarium of no less than $25,000 for the State Teacher of the Year, honoraria of no less than $1,000 for each local district teacher of the year, and additional pay and assistance for teachers who serve as mentors.  The legislation also provides that loans to assist with college tuition and living expenses shall be made available to qualified state residents who are attending institutions of higher learning in the state for the purpose of changing careers to become certified teachers employed in the state’s areas of critical need.  

The General Assembly approved an act which is designed to enhance school bus safety with regard to the use of vans by public schools, private schools, and others for the transportation of students.  The legislation provides that, as of July 1, 2000, any entity transporting preprimary, primary, or secondary students to or from school, school-related activities, or childcare and using a vehicle designed to carry a driver and more than ten passengers must transport these students in a vehicle meeting federal safety regulations and standards.  Certain exceptions are provided, most notably that vehicles purchased before July 1, 2000, do not have to comply with requirements until July 1, 2006. 

The General Assembly passed legislation establishing an Illegal Per Se provision in state laws which address driving under the influence.  The legislation provides that the act of operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of at least ten one hundredths of one percent is illegal in and of itself.  Prosecution under this new offense of “Driving With An Unlawful Alcohol Concentration” is a departure from DUI court proceedings which focus on whether a defendant’s blood alcohol level has impaired his driving.  The legislation establishes conditions under which the new offense applies, provides penalties, specifies challenges which may be used by defendants, and makes other revisions such as adjusting fines and fees.  

Lawmakers passed Magistrates Court Reform legislation which establishes minimum educational requirements and eligibility screening for magistrates.  The legislation also revises magistrates’ salaries and court fees.

Fiscal Year 2000-2001 appropriations include a 2.5% percent base pay raise for state employees effective July 1, 2000, and an average 1% merit pay increase which may be awarded following the employee’s next performance evaluation.  Lawmakers also approved twenty-eight year retirement for state employees which reduces from thirty to twenty-eight the number of years of service after which an employee may retire without penalty.  The General Assembly also approved the Teacher and Employee Retention Incentive (TERI) Program under which state employers may encourage experienced employees to remain in the workforce for up to five additional years beyond retirement while all retirement benefits are deposited in an account.

Lawmakers approved the Tobacco Settlement Revenue Management Authority Act as the state’s plan for funds received under the 1998 Master Settlement Agreement between tobacco manufacturers and several states, including South Carolina.  The plan provides for the issuance of bonds payable from and secured solely by payments of these settlement receipts.  Funds will be distributed among four separate accounts: 73% to the Healthcare Tobacco Settlement Trust Fund, 15% to the Tobacco Community Trust Fund, 10% to the Tobacco Settlement Economic Development Fund, and 2% to the Tobacco Settlement Local Government Fund.

The General Assembly passed legislation authorizing South Carolina to become a member of the Atlantic Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact.  The legislation places limits on the amount of radioactive waste that the state may accept each year and disallows acceptance of nonregional waste after 2008.  The South Carolina Budget and Control Board is charged with overseeing disposal rates and importation of nonregional waste.  The legislation provides for the allotment of revenues derived from acceptance of nuclear waste.

Legislators passed the Conservation Incentives Act which is designed to protect and preserve natural areas by providing an income tax credit incentive for landowners who voluntarily convey lands or conservation easements to qualified conservation organizations.

Lawmakers approved tax incentives to encourage technology intensive facilities to conduct research and development initiatives in South Carolina.  The General Assembly also passed the Community Economic Development Act which authorizes the creation of community development corporations and community development financial institutions for the purpose of promoting economic opportunities in impoverished areas of the state.

This year, both the House of Representatives and Senate approved different versions of legislation which revises charter schools statutes, but no compromise was passed as of adjournment.  The legislation from this session contained various revisions for charter schools, which are exempted from certain state regulations and authorized to pursue the specialized educational missions approved in their charters.  Most notable were proposals to relax or eliminate the current requirement that a charter school may not have a racial composition that differs from the composition of the surrounding school district by more than ten percent.  The issue is also impacted by a South Carolina Circuit Court decision ruling the present charter school law unconstitutional because of the racial composition requirement.  That decision is on appeal.  The South Carolina Supreme Court’s decision may impact the way lawmakers revisit the issue.

Many other potential issues await attention from lawmakers when the 114th General Assembly convenes in January of 2001.  The General Assembly may consider the establishment of special Drug Treatment Courts to handle substance abuse cases and utilize intensive treatment programs and community service as alternatives to incarceration. Lawmakers may also continue to examine electric utility restructuring proposals for a competitive marketplace in which the consumer selects the provider of electrical services.  Legislators may also revisit proposals to strengthen the state’s Right to Work Laws which prohibit certain activities which have the effect of requiring employees to join labor unions and organizations.  Additionally, should voters at November’s General Election decide to amend the South Carolina Constitution so as to authorize a state lottery, lawmakers would be called upon to implement the program and provide details on how proceeds would be used.     

MAJOR

LEGISLATION

WHICH PASSED

BUSINESS / ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Atlantic Interstate low-level radioactive waste 

compact implementation act 

(See S.1129 under the State / Local Government heading.)
CHILD DAY CARE CENTERS RUN BY RELIGIOUS INSTITUTIONS
(See S.199 under the Health / Social Services heading.)

SC COMMUNITY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ACT

The General Assembly passed S.80, the South Carolina Community Economic Development Act.  This bill assigns to the Department of Commerce (the Department) the duties and responsibilities of establishing criteria for, and for certifying entities as community development corporations and community development financial institutions.  The Department is also charged to administer grants and loans to these entities from funds made available to it by the General Assembly for that purpose, and to provide technical support for carrying out the community development goals of the bill.  These entities as created in the bill are:


"Community Development Corporations," which are created for the purpose of developing and improving low-income communities and neighborhoods through economic and related development, and which have a primary function of developing projects and activities designed to enhance the economic opportunities of the people in the community served, including efforts to enable them to become owners and managers of small businesses and producers of affordable housing and jobs; community development corporations do not provide credit, capital, or other assistance from public funds in an amount greater than $25,000 at one time or in one transaction. The Department of Commerce may adjust that amount as provided in the bill.


"Community Development Financial Institutions," which are created for the purpose of promoting community development by providing credit, capital, or development services to small businesses or home mortgage assistance to individuals including, but not limited to, capital access programs, microlending, franchise financing, and guaranty performance bonds;  the community development financial institution is created with the goal of providing a majority of its services to low-income individuals, minorities, females, or rural areas;  community development financial institutions do not provide credit, capital, or other assistance in an amount greater than $250,000 at one time or in one transaction. The Department of Commerce may adjust the dollar amount as provided in the bill.

The bill provides that a taxpayer may claim as a credit against his state income tax, bank tax, or premium tax liability thirty-three percent of all amounts invested in a community development corporation or in a community development financial institution.  The bill provides criteria for qualification for this credit and provides that the total aggregate amount of credits allowed may not exceed five million dollars for all taxpayers and all taxable years, and one million dollars for all taxpayers in one taxable year.  The bill also provides that a single community development corporation or community development financial institution may not receive more than 25% of the total tax credits authorized under the bill in any one taxable year.

The bill takes effect upon approval by the Governor, except that the community development tax credits apply to tax years beginning after 2000.  The provisions of this bill, unless reauthorized by the General Assembly, terminate on June 30, 2005.

STATUS:
S.80 (Act 314) was signed by the Governor on May 30.
TECHNOLOGY INTENSIVE FACILITIES INCENTIVES

The General Assembly approved H.3782, which includes the Conservation Incentives Act (see summary of that section of the bill under Environment/Natural Resources heading of this document) and which also includes provisions for various tax incentives to encourage technologically advanced research and development facilities in the State.  An annual job tax credit is provided for qualifying technology intensive facilities.  A technology intensive facility, as defined in the bill, is a firm engaged in the design, development, and introduction of new products or innovative manufacturing processes, or both, through the systematic application of scientific and technical knowledge.

The bill affords a taxpayer who meets specified criteria certain corporate tax credits equal to five percent of the taxpayer's qualified expenditures for research and development made in South Carolina.  Such credit taken in any one taxable year may not exceed fifty percent of the taxpayer's remaining tax liability after all other credits have been applied.  The legislation revises the 1995 Enterprise Zone Act by adding technology intensive facilities to the list of facilities which the State should induce to locate or expand in South Carolina to promote the public purpose of creating new jobs.  The legislation provides an exemption from sales tax for machines used in research and development.

The bill also provides that the current ad valorem property tax exemption for certain additions to existing research and development facilities applies to machinery and equipment installed in an existing manufacturing or research and development facility.  

STATUS:
H.3782 (Act 283) was signed by the Governor on May 19.
THE COURTS

MAGISTRATES COURT REFORM ACT OF 2000

H.3379, the Magistrates Court Reform Act of 2000, increases magistrate civil jurisdiction on specified legal actions to $7,500 as well as increases various magistrate court fees.  The bill increases the fee (1) for issuing a summons and a copy for the defendant, and (2) for giving judgment with or without a hearing in a civil action from $25 to $45.  The bill increases the fee for proceedings by a landlord against a tenant from $10 to $20.  A bad check administrative fee is increased from $20 to $41; also, bad check jurisdiction for magistrates is increased from $500 to $1,000.

On and after January 1, 2001 magistrates must participate in the South Carolina Police Officers Retirement System (PORS).  H.3379 outlines special procedures for magistrates that wish to transfer their service from the South Carolina Retirement System (SCRS) to PORS between July 1, 2000 and January 1, 2001.  After July 1, 2001, magistrates may elect to transfer their service from SCRS to PORS according to the provisions of South Carolina Code of Laws §9-11-40(9).

As for educational requirements, on and after July 1, 2001, a person must have received a two-year associate degree for an initial appointment as a magistrate.  On and after July 1, 2005, a person must have received a four-year baccalaureate degree for an initial appointment as a magistrate.  Additionally, magistrates must observe 10 trials prior to holding court.  Currently serving magistrates are grandfathered during their tenure in office.

H.3379 authorizes the South Carolina Court Administration to establish and determine the number of contact hours to be completed in a two-year continuing education program available to magistrates.  The program would be administered through the state’s technical college system.  Funding for the program would come from fees and costs collected by magistrates or magistrates’ courts and deposited in the general fund of the county.  

H.3379 establishes an advisory council to make recommendations to the Supreme Court regarding the eligibility examination, certification examination, and continuing education requirements for magistrates.  The advisory council would be composed of 13 members, appointed by the Chief Justice upon the recommendation of trial lawyers, defense lawyers, sheriffs, victims, Criminal Justice Academy, legal services, Summary Court Judges Association, Senate and House Judiciary Committee Chairmen, and the Governor. 

A magistrate’s failure to retire in accordance with South Carolina Code of Laws §22-1-25 or a magistrate’s failure to comply with educational requirements may subject him or her to suspension or removal by order of the Supreme Court.

H.3379 authorizes the South Carolina Court Administration in cooperation with the state’s technical schools to select and administer an eligibility examination to test the basic skills of persons seeking an initial appointment as magistrate on or after July 1, 2001.  No person is eligible to be appointed as a magistrate unless he or she receives a passing score on the eligibility examination.  The results of these eligibility examinations are valid for six months before and six months after the time the appointment is to be made.  Persons may be exempted from taking the examination if certain prescribed educational equivalency requirements have been met.

Under the bill, the number, location, and full-time or part-time status of magistrates in the county may be increased or decreased.  In order to do so, a written agreement between the members of the Senate delegation for the county and the county governing body must be filed with Court Administration. 

H.3379 establishes three base categories for salaries, depending on the population of the county where the magistrate is located.  However, a magistrate may not receive 100% of the salary rate for his or her county’s population category until completion of four years in office.  For those counties with a population of 150,000 or above, the base salary is 55% of circuit court judge’s salary for the state’s previous fiscal year.  For those counties with a population of at least 50,000 but not more than 149,999, the base salary is 45% of a circuit judge’s salary for the previous fiscal year.  For those counties with a population of less than 50,000, the base salary is 35% of a circuit court judge’s salary for the state’s previous fiscal year.  

A county may not pay a magistrate less than the appropriate base salary, but a county is not prohibited from paying a magistrate more than the established base salary.  A magistrate’s compensation must not be decreased during his or her term in office.  The bill provides that magistrates being paid over scale must receive the same percentage pay increases as other magistrates.  Part-time magistrates must not work more than 40 hours a week, unless directed to do so on a limited and intermittent basis by the chief magistrate.  Additional magistrates could be added based on accommodation tax revenues.  For counties that do not have sufficient increased fees to fund the pay increases for magistrates, a five-year reimbursement program based upon request to the State Treasurer’s office is established.

The Supreme Court is requested to make a report to the respective Chairmen of the Senate and House Judiciary Committees by March 15, 2001, with recommendations for additional changes in the magistrates’ court system.  In addition, the Supreme Court is requested (1) to record the amount of revenue generated for each county by the fee increases and the amounts needed to fund the salaries and benefits for magistrates in each county, and (2) to report that information to the Chairmen of the Senate and House Judiciary Committees by March 15, 2005.

As for effective dates: (1) generally most provisions take effect July 1, 2000, (2) new fees would go into effect April 1, 2000, (3) new salaries go into effect July 1, 2000, (4) $7,500 jurisdictional amount goes into effect January 1, 2001, and 

(5) continuing education and trial observances go into effect July 1, 2001.

STATUS:
H.3379 (Act 226) was signed by the Governor on February 25.

SAFE HAVEN FOR ABANDONED BABIES ACT 

(See H.4743 under the Criminal Justice heading.)

CRIMINAL JUSTICE

ILLEGAL PER SE: 

DRIVING WITH AN UNLAWFUL ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION

Among other things, S.544 establishes an illegal per se statute and amends several code sections to reference this new offense.  Many other code sections are implicated because of related issues included in the bill such as driver’s license suspensions, implied consent, and underage drinking. 

Under this bill, it is unlawful for a person to drive a motor vehicle within this State while his or her alcohol concentration is ten one-hundredths of one percent or more.  A person violating the provisions of this section is guilty of the offense of “Driving With An Unlawful Alcohol Concentration.”  A person can be charged under existing DUI law but prosecuted under this section if  1) the testing of the person’s breath or other bodily fluids was performed within two hours of the arrest, and  

2) probable cause existed to justify the traffic stop.  This section does not apply to cases arising out of a stop at a traffic road block or driver’s license checkpoint.  A person cannot be prosecuted for both a violation of the illegal per se statute and existing DUI law.  

A person violating the illegal per se statute is entitled to a jury trial and may challenge certain factors including, but not limited to, the following:  (1) whether the person was lawfully arrested or detained;  (2) whether probable cause existed to justify the stop;  (3) the period of time between arrest and testing;  (4) whether the person was advised in writing of certain rights;  (5) whether the person consented to taking a test;  (6) the reported alcohol concentration was ten one-hundredths of one percent or more;  (7) the individual administering the test or took samples was qualified;  and (8) the machine was working properly.

Nothing in the new illegal per se statute prohibits the introduction of the following evidence:

1)
the results of any additional tests of the person’s breath or other bodily fluids;

2)
any evidence that may corroborate or question the validity of the breath or bodily fluid test result including, but not limited to:

a)
field sobriety tests;

b)
the amount of alcohol consumed by the person; and

c)
the person’s driving;

3)
a videotape of the person’s conduct at the incident site and breath testing site taken pursuant to South Carolina Code of Laws §56-5-2953 which is subject to redaction under the rules of evidence; or

4)
any other evidence of the state of the person’s faculties to drive which would call into question the results of a breath or bodily fluid test.

At trial, a person charged under the illegal per se statute is entitled to a jury instruction stating that the factors enumerated above and the totality of the evidence produced at trial may be used by the jury to determine guilt or innocence.

S.544 provides that a person charged with a violation of South Carolina Code of Laws §56-5-2930 (unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence), §56-5-2933 (driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration), or §56-5-2945 (causing great bodily injury or death by operating vehicle while under influence of drugs or alcohol) has certain rights.  Any person who is being tried in any court of competent jurisdiction in this State, under this bill has the right to compulsory process for obtaining witnesses or documents in his or her favor including, but not limited to, state employees charged with the maintenance of breath testing devices and the administration of breath testing.  The term “documents” includes a copy of the software program of breath testing devices. 

Additionally, at the time of arrest S.544 provides that the defendant must be informed of his or her right to all hearings provided by law.  If the defendant wishes to avail himself or herself of any such hearings, the arresting officer must provide the defendant with the appropriate form to request the hearing or hearings.  The defendant must acknowledge receipt of the notice requirements and receipt of the hearing form, if such a hearing is desired.  

Under S.544, South Carolina Code of Laws §56-5-2940 (the penalty section for violating the statute which makes it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence) is also the penalty section for violations of the offense of driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration.  This bill authorizes the court to require an offender to have installed on his or her vehicle an ignition interlock device designed to prevent the operation of the motor vehicle if the operator has consumed alcoholic beverages.  The offender must pay the costs associated with installing the ignition interlock device; however, special provisions are made for indigent offenders.

In regards to persons under the age of 21 who drive motor vehicles with certain amounts of alcohol concentration, the person’s driver’s license, permit, or nonresident operating privilege must be restored when the person’s period of suspension has concluded, even if the person has not yet completed the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (“ADSAP”) in which he or she is enrolled.  After the person’s driving privilege is restored, he or she must continue to participate in ADSAP.  If the person withdraws from or in any way stops making satisfactory progress toward the completion of ADSAP, the person’s license will be suspended until he or she completes the program.  After a notice of suspension has been issued pursuant to this section, the person may request an administrative hearing.  Current law provides that the administrative hearing must be held within 10 days after the request for the hearing is received; this bill changes the length of time to 30 days.  

In regards to persons under the age of 21 who drive motor vehicles with certain amounts of alcohol concentration, current law allows either party, by showing exigent circumstances, to have a continuance granted for this hearing, not to exceed 30 days.  This bill deletes the above-mentioned provision and adds a provision that places a greater responsibility on Department of Public Safety (“DPS”).  If the hearing was not scheduled within 30 days, DPS must issue a written order within 10 days.  The order must set forth the reasons why the hearing was not held within 30 days, and a new hearing must be scheduled.  If DPS does not issue a written order within 10 days or fails to schedule or hold a subsequent hearing, the person shall have his license or permit reinstated.

Under S.544, magistrates’ courts would have exclusive jurisdiction in all cases involving driving under suspension, except those cases where the suspension resulted from a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  The Chief Judge for Administrative Purposes for the General Sessions Court shall retain administrative supervision of cases transferred to the magistrate’s court.

With regard to presumptions if testing reveals certain alcohol concentrations, currently, if the alcohol concentration was at the time of testing ten one-hundredths of one percent or more, it is inferred that the person was under the influence of alcohol.  This inference remains unchanged, but S.544 adds another provision stating that if the alcohol concentration was at the time of testing ten one-hundredths of one percent or more and the original testing was performed within two hours of the arrest, the person has violated the illegal per se statute.

S.544 provides that in the event the alcohol concentration level for DUI-related offenses changes from ten one‑hundredths of one percent or more to eight one‑hundredths of one percent or more as provided by law, then the illegal per se statute does not apply to alcohol concentration levels between eight one‑hundredths of one percent up to ten one‑hundredths of one percent.  Instead, for this range, there is an inference that the person was under the influence of alcohol or other such substances.

S.544 extends the open container law to highway rights-of-ways.  However, this does not apply to vehicles legally parked during functions where law enforcement officers are on duty to perform traffic control. 

With regards to the suspension of license for refusal to submit to testing or for a certain level of alcohol concentration, current law provides that within 10 days of the issuance of the notice of suspension of the license, the person may obtain a temporary alcohol restricted license by filing a form with the Department after enrolling in ADSAP.  S.544 increases the time a person would have to file that form from 10 days to 30 days.

In regards to a person 21 years of age or older transporting alcoholic liquors to and from a place where alcoholic liquors may be lawfully possessed or consumed, the term alcoholic liquors means all distilled spirits regardless of the percentage of alcohol by volume that they contain.

S.544 imposes a $100 surcharge on all convictions under the illegal per se statute and other convictions under existing DUI law.  No portion of the surcharges may be waived, reduced, or suspended.  The revenue collected must be paid over to the State Treasurer monthly and placed in a separate account to be used for spinal cord research by the Medical University of South Carolina.  Additionally, the bill creates the South Carolina Spinal Cord Injury Research Board for the purposes of administering the spinal cord injury research fund.

Certain provisions of this bill will not take effect until (1) the Chief of the SLED certifies to the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives that all breath test sites in the State have been equipped with video cameras so that a person’s conduct may be videotaped, or (2) January 1, 2001, whichever is later.  The portion of the bill dealing with compulsory process for a defendant to obtain witnesses or documents in his or her favor takes effect March 1, 2002.   

STATUS:
S.544 was ratified (R442) on June 22.
ILL-TREATMENT AND TORTURE OF ANIMALS

Under S.21, whoever knowingly or intentionally overloads, overdrives, overworks, ill‑treats any animal, deprives any animal of necessary sustenance or shelter, inflicts unnecessary pain or suffering upon any animal, or by omission or commission knowingly or intentionally causes these things to be done, for every offense is guilty of a misdemeanor.  Upon conviction, a person must be punished by imprisonment not exceeding 60 days or by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500, or both, for a first offense.

This bill increases the penalty for the torture, torment, and needless mutilation of an animal from a misdemeanor to a felony.  Under this bill, the penalty for torture of an animal would be imprisonment of not less than 180 days and not to exceed five years and a fine of $5,000.  This section does not apply to fowl, accepted animal husbandry practices of farm operations and the training of animals, the practice of veterinary medicine, agricultural practices, forestry and silvacultural practices, wildlife management practices, or activity authorized by Title 50 (Fish, Game, and Watercraft.)

STATUS:
S.21 (Act 294) was signed by the Governor on May 26.

INFLICTING GREAT BODILY INJURY UPON A CHILD

Under H.3555, it is a felony to inflict great bodily injury upon a child.  It is also unlawful for a child’s parent or guardian, person with whom the child’s parent or guardian is cohabitating, or any other person who is responsible for a child’s welfare knowingly to allow another person to inflict great bodily injury upon a child.  The term “great bodily injury” means an injury that creates a substantial risk of death or which causes serious or permanent disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of any bodily member or organ.  Criminal penalties are established for failure to comply with the provisions of this bill; both inflicting great bodily injury upon a child and allowing another person to inflict great bodily injury upon a child are considered violent crimes.  The bill does not apply to corporal punishment or physical discipline that is administered by a parent or person in loco parentis in a manner that does not cause great bodily injury upon a child.  Additionally, the bill provides an exception for traffic accidents unless the accident was caused by the driver’s reckless disregard for the safety of others.

STATUS:
H.3555 (Act 261) was signed by the Governor on May 1.

ACCESS TO JUVENILE INFORMATION

H.4003 pertains to juvenile records, juvenile fingerprinting, juvenile photographs, and other juvenile information.  Highlights of the legislation include the following:


When a child is charged by a law enforcement officer for an offense, the law enforcement officer must notify the principal of the school in which the child is enrolled of the nature of the offense.  This information may be used by the principal for monitoring and supervisory purposes but otherwise must be kept confidential.


The Director of the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) must develop policies providing for the transmission of necessary and appropriate information to ensure the provision and coordination of services or assistance to a child under the supervision of DJJ.  Additionally, the Director is authorized to enter into interagency agreements for the purpose of sharing information about children under the supervision or custody of DJJ; the agencies entering into these agreements must maintain the confidentiality of the information. 


DJJ must notify the principal of a school in which a child is enrolled, intends to be enrolled, or was last enrolled upon final disposition of a case in which the child is charged with certain offenses.  Each school district is responsible for developing a policy for schools within the district to follow that ensures the confidential nature of these records is maintained. 


When requested, DJJ must provide the victim of a crime with the name and other basic descriptive information about the child charged with the crime including, but not limited to, a photograph; information about the juvenile justice system; the status and disposition of the delinquency action including hearing dates, times, and locations; and services available to victims of juvenile crime.  


DJJ or State Law Enforcement Division (SLED), or both, must provide the Attorney General, a circuit solicitor, or a law enforcement agency a copy of a child’s juvenile offense history upon request for criminal justice purposes.  Other information retained by DJJ may be provided to law enforcement, the Solicitor, the Attorney General, and federal authorities pursuant to an ongoing criminal investigation or prosecution.

DJJ may fingerprint and photograph a child upon the filing of a petition, release from detention, release on house arrest, or commitment to a juvenile correctional institution.  With certain exceptions, fingerprints and photographs taken by DJJ remain confidential and must not be transmitted to the SLED, the FBI, or another agency or person. 


Except as otherwise provided, law enforcement records and information identifying children are confidential and may not be disclosed directly or indirectly to anyone, other than those entitled to receive the information.


Law enforcement records of children must be kept separate from records of adults.  Information identifying a child must not be open to public inspection, but the remainder of these records are public information.


A child charged with any offense may be photographed by the law enforcement agency that takes the child into custody.  If the child is taken into secure custody and detained, the detention facility must photograph the child upon admission.  These photographs may only be disseminated for criminal justice purposes or to assist the Missing Persons Information Center in the location or identification of a missing or runaway child. 


A child charged with an offense that would carry a maximum term of imprisonment of five years or more if committed by an adult must be fingerprinted by the law enforcement agency that takes the child into custody.  If the child is taken into secure custody and detained, the detention facility must fingerprint the child upon admission.  The bill outlines additional procedures for when a law enforcement agency may petition the court for an order to fingerprint a child.  The fingerprint records of a child must be kept separate from the fingerprint records of adults.


The name, identity, or picture of a child under the jurisdiction of the court, must not be provided to a newspaper or radio or television station (1) unless authorized by order of the court or (2) unless the solicitor has petitioned the court to waive the child to circuit court, (3) the child has been bound over to a court which would have jurisdiction of the offense if committed by an adult, or (4) the child has been adjudicated delinquent in court for certain offense.  Additionally, when a child is bound over to the jurisdiction of circuit court, the provisions addressing the confidentiality of fingerprints and identity do not apply.


A person who has been taken into custody for, charged with, or adjudicated delinquent for having committed a status or a nonviolent offense may petition the family court for an order destroying all official records relating to being taken into custody, the charges filed against the child, the adjudication, and disposition.  The granting of the order is discretionary with the court and the person applying for the destruction of records must meet certain eligibility requirements.

STATUS:

H.4003 was enrolled for ratification June 20.

PERSONAL FINANCIAL SECURITY ACT

H.3509 creates the offense of financial identity fraud.  Under the bill, financial identity fraud occurs when a person, without permission, (1) obtains or records identifying information about another person, or (2) accesses or attempts to access the financial resources of another person through the use of identifying information.  The term “identifying information” includes social security numbers, driver’s license numbers, checking account numbers, savings account numbers, credit card numbers, debit card numbers, personal identification card numbers, electronic identification numbers, digital signatures, or other numbers or information which may be used to access a person’s financial resources.  

In a criminal proceeding, the crime is considered to have been committed in a county in which a part of the financial fraud took place, regardless of whether the defendant was ever actually in that county.  A person who commits the offense of financial identity fraud is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both.  Additionally, the court may order restitution to the victim.  

The bill provides that nothing may be construed to apply to the (1) lawful acquisition and use of credit or other information in the course of a bona fide consumer or commercial transaction or in connection with an account by any financial institution or entity defined in or required to comply with the Federal Fair Credit Reporting Act or the Federal Gramm‑Leach‑Bliley Financial Modernization Act; (2) lawful, good faith exercise of a security interest or a right to offset exercised by a creditor, agency, or financial institution; or (3) the lawful, good faith compliance by a party when required by a warrant, levy, attachment, court order, or other judicial or administrative order, decree, or directive. 

H.3509 also creates a 19-member joint legislative study committee to study personal information privacy issues and examine the relationship of information technology and privacy issues.  The committee must seek to establish an appropriate balance that promotes the use of information for legitimate business purposes, including biometric technology for use in preventing identity theft and fraud, while safeguarding the personal privacy rights of the citizens of South Carolina.  

STATUS:
H.3509 (Act 305) was signed by the Governor on May 26.

SOUTH CAROLINA NOTORIETY FOR PROFIT ACT

H.3870 establishes procedures for eligible persons (victims and their families) and the State Office of Victim Assistance (“office”) to recover profits obtained or generated from the commission of crime.  If an offender, or his or her representative or agent, knowingly contracts for, pays, or agrees to be paid any profit from a crime, he or she must give written notice to the office of the payment or the obligation to pay and a copy of the contract as soon as practical after discovering that the payment or intended payment is a profit from a crime.  Penalties are established for individuals who fail to submit to the office a copy of the contract or who fail to pay the office monies or other consideration.  Any action taken by an offender to defeat the purpose of this bill is null and void as against the public policy of this State.  All state agencies, solicitors, and law enforcement agencies, with knowledge of profits from a crime that an offender has obtained or generated, must report this information to the office. 

Under the bill, the office is required to notify all known eligible persons at their last known address of the existence of profits.  An eligible person has the right to bring a civil action to recover money damages within three years of the discovery of any profits from the crime.  Damages awarded are recoverable only up to the value of the profits from this crime.  If profits from a crime remain after the payment of all claims, the bill allows the office to bring an action within two years to recover certain payments made by the office with regard to the crime or the offender convicted of the crime in question.  

The bill requires that upon the filing of an action to recover profits from a crime that the eligible person must give notice to the office by delivering or mailing a copy of the complaint.  Upon receipt of the complaint, the office must:


use certified mail, return receipt requested, to notify all other known eligible persons whose addresses are known, of the alleged existence of profits from a crime;


publish, at least once a year for three years from the date it is initially notified by an eligible person, a legal notice in newspapers of general circulation in the county where the crime was committed and in contiguous counties advising any eligible persons of the alleged existence of profits from a crime.  The office may provide additional notice in its discretion; and


avoid the wasting of the assets identified in the complaint as the newly discovered profits from a crime.

The bill authorizes the office to act on behalf of an eligible person and apply for any remedies available to the eligible person.

STATUS:
H.3870 (Act 306) was signed by the Governor on May 26.

SAFE HAVEN FOR ABANDONED BABIES ACT 

Under H.4743, a hospital or hospital outpatient facility must, without a court order, take temporary physical custody of an infant who is voluntarily left with the facility by a person who does not express an intent to return for the infant and the circumstances give rise to a reasonable belief that the person does not intend to return for the infant.  The person leaving the infant is not required to disclose his or her identity.  

The legislation specifies that the duties of the facility include:  


performing any act necessary to protect the physical health or safety of the infant


offering the person leaving the infant information concerning the legal effect of leaving the infant with the facility


asking the person leaving the infant to identify any parent of the infant


attempting to obtain from the person leaving the infant information concerning the infant’s background and medical history on a form provided by Department of Social Services (DSS)


giving the person leaving the infant a copy of the DSS form and a prepaid envelope for mailing the form to DSS, if the person does not wish to provide the information to the facility


keeping any identifying information disclosed by the person leaving the infant confidential; the facility may only disclose the information to DSS

The facility must notify DSS that it has taken temporary custody of an infant no later than the close of the first business day after the date on which the facility takes possession of an infant.  DSS shall have legal custody of the infant upon receipt of the notice and must assume physical control of the infant as soon as practicable, but no later than 24 hours after receiving notice that the infant is ready for discharge from the facility.  DSS must contact the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) for assistance in assuring that the infant left at the facility is not a missing infant.  SLED must treat the request as ongoing for a period of 30 days and must contact DSS if a missing infant report is received that might relate to the infant left at the facility.

Under H.4743, within 48-hours after taking legal custody of the infant, DSS must publish a notice in a newspaper of general circulation and send a news release to broadcast and print media.  The notice and the news release must state the circumstances under which the infant was left at facility, a description of the infant, and the date, time, and place of the permanency planning hearing.  The notice must also state that any person wishing to assert parental rights in regard to the infant must do so at that hearing.  If the person leaving the infant identified anyone as being a parent of the infant, notice must be sent to the last known address of the person identified at least two weeks prior to the hearing.  Within 48-hours after taking legal custody of the infant, DSS must file a petition alleging that, among other things, the infant has been abandoned.  A hearing on the petition must be held no earlier than 30 and no later than 60 days after DSS takes legal custody of the infant.  This hearing shall be the permanency planning hearing for the infant.  

The act of leaving an infant with a facility is conclusive proof that the infant has been abused or neglected for purposes of DSS jurisdiction and for evidentiary purposes in any judicial proceeding in which abuse or neglect of the infant is in issue.  It is also conclusive proof that the requirements for termination of parental rights have been satisfied as to any parent who left the infant or acted in concert with the person leaving the infant.

Under H.4743, a person who leaves an infant at a facility or directs another person to do so must not be prosecuted for any criminal offense on account of such action if: (1) the person is a parent of the infant or is acting at the direction of a parent, (2) the person leaves the infant in the physical custody of an employee of the facility, and (3) the infant is no more than 30 days old.  Immunity is also granted to various personnel and employees of the facility where the infant was left.  DSS alone or in collaboration with any other public entity, must take appropriate measures to achieve public awareness of these provisions.

STATUS:
H.4743 (Act 326) was signed by the Governor on June 6.
VOYEURISM

S.470 prohibits the use of electronic video or audio equipment for the purpose of eavesdropping or peeping.  This bill further prohibits a person from committing the crime of voyeurism.  A person commits the crime of voyeurism if, for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire of any person, he or she knowingly views, photographs, audio records, video records, or films another person without that person’s knowledge and consent, while the person is in a place where he or she would have a reasonable expectation of privacy.  Penalties are established for failure to comply.  A person commits the crime of aggravated voyeurism if he or she knowingly sells or distributes any photograph, audio recording, video recording, or film of another person made in violation of this section.  Penalties are established for failure to comply with the provisions of the bill.

In addition to any punishment, the bill requires the person procuring photographs, audio recordings, video recordings, or films to immediately forfeit all copies of such items.  These items must be destroyed when they are no longer required for evidentiary purposes.

The phrase “place where a person would have a reasonable expectation of privacy” means (1) a place where a reasonable person would believe that he or she could disrobe in privacy, without being concerned that his or her undressing was being photographed, filmed, or videotaped by another; or (2) a place where one would reasonably expect to be safe from hostile intrusion or surveillance.

The bill does apply to the following:


viewing, photographing, videotaping, or filming by law enforcement for security purposes in a detention center or during the investigation of alleged misconduct by a person in the custody


security surveillance for the purposes of decreasing or prosecuting theft, shoplifting, or other security surveillance measures in bona fide business establishments


any official law enforcement activities conducted pursuant to South Carolina Code of Laws § 16-17-480


private detectives and investigators conducting surveillance in the ordinary course of business; or


any bona fide news gathering activities.

STATUS:
S.470 was signed by the Governor on June 14.

EDUCATION

LIFE SCHOLARSHIPS

Part II, Section 3 of H.3649 increases the LIFE Scholarships by 50%, to $3,000 for eligible students attending 4-year institutions.  Students at 2-year institutions and technical colleges will receive scholarships that fully cover the cost of tuition.  The increased scholarships will require additional funding of $13.3 million annually.  LIFE Scholarships for FY2000-01 will assist 15,700 students, reducing tuition costs by $43 million annually.

STATUS:
The permanent proviso providing this increase, and the funding for

it are both included in H.3649, which passed both the House and

the Senate and which has been ratified (R453).

H.4650 repeals the STAR Diploma Program.  The bill eliminates references to the STAR Diploma Program including the current requirement that to be eligible for the LIFE Scholarship, a student must have passed all courses required for a STAR diploma.  The bill also eliminates the provision that all students who earn a LIFE Scholarship or the Palmetto Fellows Scholarship shall be recognized at graduation from high school with a certificate issued by the Department of Education. 

H.4650 also provides that in order to qualify for or continue to receive a Palmetto Fellows Scholarship, a Tuition Grant or a Need-Based Grant, the student must not have been adjudicated delinquent or been convicted or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any felonies or any alcohol or drug related offenses.  However, the bill does provide that a high school or college student otherwise qualified who has been adjudicated delinquent or has been convicted or pled guilty or nolo contendere to an alcohol or drug-related misdemeanor offense nevertheless shall be eligible or continue to be eligible for such scholarships or grants after the expiration of one academic year from the date of the adjudication, conviction, or plea.  

Also, the bill includes a provision that the term “qualifying college or institution” as defined by the South Carolina Academic Endowment Incentive Act Of 1997, includes a regional campus of the University of South Carolina. 

STATUS:
H.4650 (Act 289) was signed by the Governor on May 19.
PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT IN CHILDREN'S EDUCATION 

The General Assembly passed S.1164, the "Parental Involvement in their Children's Education Act," the purposes of which is: to heighten awareness of the importance of parents’ involvement in the education of their children throughout the children's schooling; to encourage the establishment and maintenance of parent-friendly school settings; and to emphasize that when parents and schools work as partners, a child’s academic success can best be assured.  The bill provides requirements, expectations, and suggestions for achieving these purposes to the Governor, the State Board of Education, the State Superintendent of Education, local school boards and district superintendents, the Education Oversight Committee, and parents.

The bill provides that the Governor shall require state agencies that serve families and children to collaborate and to network with schools to emphasize the importance of parental influence on the academic success of their children, and to encourage and assist parents to become more involved in their children's education.
The bill provides that the State Board of Education shall require school and district long-range improvements plans to include parental involvement goals and objectives and an evaluation component.  The bill requires that the State Board also recognize districts and schools where parental involvement significantly increases beyond stated goals and objectives, and requires that the State Board establish criteria for staff training on school initiatives and activities shown to increase parental involvement in their children's education.

The bill requires the State Superintendent of Education to design parental involvement and best practices training programs in conjunction with higher education institutions and the pre-K through grade 12 education community, including parental program coordinators, which shall include: practices that are responsive to racial, ethnic, and socio-economic diversity, and are appropriate to various grade-level needs; establishment and maintenance of parent-friendly school settings; awareness of community resources that strengthen families and assist students to succeed; and other topics appropriate for fostering partnerships between parent and teacher.  The bill also requires the State Superintendent to collaborate with the Commission on Higher Education (CHE) to incorporate parental involvement training into teacher and principal preparation programs, and requires the State Superintendent to promote parental involvement as a priority from pre-K through grade 12 with emphasis at the middle and high school levels.

The bill also requires the State Superintendent to designate a State Department of Education (SDE) staff position to coordinate statewide initiatives supporting school and district parental involvement.  The State Superintendent is also required to disseminate to districts and schools practices which are effective in increasing parental involvement at all grade levels.

The State Superintendent is also required to provide parental involvement staff development training for liaisons; to provide schools with technical assistance for parental involvement training; to sponsor statewide conferences on best practices; to enroll the SDE as a member of national organizations which promote parental involvement; to encourage local districts to join national parental involvement organizations; to monitor and evaluate parental involvement programs statewide by designing a system for determining program effectiveness and identifying best practices, and reporting evaluation findings and implications.

The bill provides that local school boards shall: consider joining national organizations which promote and provide technical assistance on proven parent involvement frameworks and models;  incorporate, where possible, proven parental involvement practices into existing policies and efforts; adopt policies emphasizing the importance of parental involvement and clearly defining expectations for effective parental involvement practices in the district's schools; provide for all faculty and staff, no later than the 2002-2003 school year, parental involvement orientation and training through staff development with an emphasis on unique school and district needs and after that, on an ongoing basis as indicated by results of certain evaluations and as required by the SDE;  provide incentives and formal recognition for schools that significantly increase parental involvement;  require an annual briefing on district and school parental involvement programs; and include parental involvement expectations as part of the superintendent's evaluation.

The bill requires each school district superintendent to consider: designating staff to serve as parent liaison for the district to coordinate parent involvement initiatives and to coordinate community and agency collaboration supporting parents and families; requiring each school to designate a faculty contact for parent involvement efforts to work with the district coordinator and network with other school faculty contacts; requiring each school principal to designate space within the school specifically for parents, which contains materials and resources on parents and schools partnering for a child's academic success; encouraging principals to adjust class and school schedules to accommodate parent-teacher conferences at times more convenient to parents, and to try to accommodate parents when transportation and normal school hours present a hardship. 

The bill requires school district superintendents to: include parental involvement expectations as part of each principal's evaluation; include information about parental involvement opportunities and participation in the district's annual report; distribute to all parents of the district the expectations for parents (see below).

The bill outlines thirteen expectations for parents, including but not limited to: attending school events, modeling desirable behaviors, using encouraging words, attending parent-teacher conferences, communicating with school and teachers, monitoring and checking homework, ensuring attendance and punctuality, and supporting school efforts to increase student learning.

The bill requires the Education Oversight Committee (EOC) to survey parents to determine if efforts to increase parental involvement are effective, and to use this information to promote the importance of parental involvement through the EOC's public awareness campaign.  The bill outlines specific items which should be included in this campaign. 

The bill requires the EOC and the State Superintendent of Education jointly to develop, publish, and distribute relevant informational materials to parents and to all districts and schools, and the bill provides items which must be included in these materials. 

The bill provides that the Education Oversight Committee, with representatives from the Department of Commerce, the Department of Revenue, and the SC Chamber of Commerce, shall develop recommendations for employer tax credits as incentives to: provide parent/employee release time from work for parent-teacher conferences or attendance at their children's academic events without loss of pay and; develop workplace policies which facilitate parental literacy improvement, which enable parents to assist their children with academics, and which facilitate parent involvement in their child's education.

STATUS:
S.1164 was ratified (R447) on June 22.
ACCESS TO JUVENILE INFORMATION

(See H.4003 under the Criminal Justice heading)

"TEACHER QUALITY" 

The General Assembly passed S.1111, a comprehensive bill pertaining to subjects including, but not limited to, school districts, teachers, certification, evaluation,  middle grades, principals, reading, and teacher honorariums.

Highlights of the bill include:

Out-of-Field Teaching

The bill provides that the State Board of Education shall review and make necessary revisions to regulations to define the criteria for an out-of-field permit, and for school districts to report out-of-field teaching for teachers who are not teaching one hundred percent of the time in their areas of certification or in a field in which the teachers have twelve or more academic hours from a regionally, state, or nationally accredited program, with special provisions made for phasing in middle-school certification.

Principal Recertification

The bill requires that the State Board of Education consider establishing for individuals employed as principals the recertification requirement that they must complete in-depth training on ways to support and encourage teachers professionally.  The bill also provides specific items which must be included in the curriculum for training.   The bill requires that the Principal Executive Institute, New Principals' Academy, and the Leadership Academy at the State Department of Education consider identifying recertification opportunities for principals to meet the requirements outlined above as well as include training in the special needs of beginning teachers, the actions to assist them, and the actions to avoid.

ADEPT (Teacher Evaluation Program) Standards and Procedures

The bill requires the State Board of Education (the Board) and the Department of Education (the Department) to review and refine the performance dimensions in ADEPT to ensure that they are consistent with certain national performance-based accreditation and certification standards.  The bill also establishes a pilot program to include student achievement as a component in ADEPT and directs the Department to develop guidelines for the teacher induction program.

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) Review

The bill charges the Board and the Commission on Higher Education (CHE) with establishing a collegial panel to develop any needed additional training standards and needs for middle grade teacher preparation and professional development courses. 

Middle School Endeavors

The bill requires the Board to:  1) establish requirements for initial certification for teaching in the middle grades by October 1, 2000, in consultation with the Middle Grades Task Force; 2) consider granting South Carolina certification to out-of-state teachers possessing middle grades certification based on a review of their teaching experience and background rather than requiring them to meet the requirements for elementary or high school certification; 3) appoint a collegial panel of middle grades classroom teachers, principals, and teacher preparation faculty to recommend training standards and needs for middle grades preparation and professional development courses for middle grades principals; 4) revisit and redefine the Defined Program, Grades 6-8, Regulation 43-232 and other appropriate regulations that establish the middle grade requirements.  The bill requires the Board to consider as a part of the review, reducing the pupil-teacher ratio; reducing the pupil-guidance counselor ratio; requiring school districts to designate in each middle school a home-school liaison to work with individual families and community groups to support ties between school, home, and community.

Governor's Institute of Reading

The bill adds to the purposes of the Governor's Institute of Reading, mobilization of efforts to improve reading abilities of middle grades students, and acceleration of the learning of students reading below grade level. 

Accreditation Criteria

The bill provides that the Board and the Department, in developing the criteria for the new accreditation system mandated by the Education Accountability Act, shall consider including as an area the functioning of school improvement councils and other school decision-making groups and their participation in the school planning process.

Part-Time Teacher Benefits

The bill provides that teachers working less than 30 hours per week, but no less than 15 hours per week, qualify for state health and dental insurance, with the employer to contribute that portion of the employer's normal cost which is attributable to the time the teacher is working.  The employer's contribution shall be no less than half the normal cost.

Teacher Loan Program

The bill revises the Teacher Loan Program.  The provides that for teachers whose loans are cancelled because they are certified and teaching in an area of critical need, if the area of critical need that the loan recipient is teaching in should be reclassified during the time of cancellation, the cancellation shall continue as though the critical need area had not changed.  The bill further provides that beginning with the 2000-2001 school year, a loan recipient who has not previously qualified for loan cancellation shall qualify if the recipient is teaching in an area newly designated as a critical needs area.  The bill provides that beginning July 1, 2000, loan recipients teaching in South Carolina public schools but not in an academic or geographical critical needs area are to be charged an interest rate below that charged to loan recipients who do not teach in South Carolina.

The bill provides that additional loans to assist with college and living expenses shall be made available to talented and qualified state residents attending State public or private colleges and universities for the sole purpose of changing careers to become certified teachers employed in the State in areas of critical need.

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS)

Certification and Pay Increase

The bill provides that National Board certified teachers have a South Carolina recertification cycle consistent with National Board certification, and NBPTS certified teachers moving to this State are exempt from initial certification requirements.  

The bill provides that National Board certified teachers will receive a pay increase for the life of the certificate, with the amount to be determined annually in the appropriations act.  Further, the bill provides that teachers applying for National Certification may receive a loan for the application fee, half forgivable when the required portfolio is submitted, all forgivable when certification is acquired within three years of application.

Other Professional Board Standards Study

The bill provides for review of the purposes and certification standards of the NBPTS and certain other professional boards to determine comparability and make recommendations regarding recertification cycles, initial certification requirements for these personnel certified out-of-state, and incentives for these national certifications.

Teacher of the Year Honorarium

The bill creates a program honoring the State Teacher of the Year, which includes an honorarium of no less than $25,000.  In addition, the program will recognize four Honor Roll teachers of the Year with awards of no less than $10,000 each and local district teachers of the year with honoraria of no less than $1,000 each.

Teacher Mentor Incentives

The bill provides incentives (additional pay, release time, and additional assistance in the classroom) for teachers who are trained and serve as mentors to new teachers.

Parent Involvement

The bill requires inclusion of parental involvement goals and objectives in school and district strategic plans.

Para-professionals

The bill directs the Department to study the training, responsibilities, and funding of para-professionals to help districts and schools to organize teachers' work days so as to reduce teachers' non-instructional duties.

STATUS:
S.1111 was ratified (R446) on June 22.

CHARACTER EDUCATION

Under H.3745, each local school board of trustees of the State must develop a policy addressing character education.  Any character education program implemented by a district as a result of an adopted policy must, to the extent possible, incorporate character traits including, but not limited to, the following:  respect for others, honesty, self‑control, cleanliness, courtesy, good manners, cooperation, citizenship, patriotism, courage, fairness, kindness, self‑respect, compassion, diligence, generosity, punctuality, cheerfulness, patience, sportsmanship, loyalty, and virtue.  The bill further provides that local school boards must include all sectors of the community in the development of a policy and in the development of any program implemented as a result of the policy.  As part of any policy and program developed by the local school board, an evaluation component must be included.

Beginning with the 2000‑2001 school year, each school district board of trustees is encouraged to require students in the public schools under the jurisdiction of the board to exhibit appropriate conduct.  When a public school student is speaking with a public school employee while on school property or at a school sponsored event, the student may be encouraged to address and respond to the public school employee by using terms indicative of or reflecting courtesy and respect for a public school’s employees position of authority, including but not limited to, sir, ma’am, thank you, and please.  Each school district board of trustees is encouraged to provide for incorporation of the requirements of this bill into any existing discipline policy or policies or any code of conduct of the school district or of each school within its jurisdiction.  However, no school board may provide suspension or expulsion from school as an appropriate punishment.

Upon request, the State Department of Education must provide to the school districts of the State information on currently available programs, curriculums, and resources.  In addition, the State Department of Education must provide to the school districts of the State information on best practices and successful programs currently being implemented.

STATUS:  H.3745 was ratified (R455) on June 22. 

INTERNET PORNOGRAPHY ON LIBRARY 

AND SCHOOL COMPUTERS
(See H.4426 under the State / Local Government heading.)

RELIGION AND PUBLIC SCHOOLS ACT OF 2000

H.3745 provides for the training of educators in how to recognize constitutional distinctions between individual free exercise of religion which the First Amendment protects and state establishment of religion which the First Amendment prohibits.  The stated purpose of this legislation is to promote a constitutionally sound understanding and a faithful compliance with the free exercise and establishment clauses of the federal and state constitutions as they apply to public school operations.  To that end, the bill requires each school district during annual in-service training to provide a program of instruction for teachers and administrators in the essentials of constitutional protections and prohibitions as they relate to religion in public school operations.  The bill outlines several areas which must be included in the instruction (student prayers; graduation prayers and baccalaureates; religion in school curriculum; teaching values; Federal Equal Access Act; Federal Religious Freedom Restoration Act; and the South Carolina Religious Freedom Act).  Once teachers and administrators have completed a program of instruction, they are not required to attend the same program on a yearly basis.  However, teachers and administrators must annually participate in programs outlining updates and new developments in these areas.  

STATUS:
H.3745 was ratified (R455) on June 22.

SOUTH CAROLINA FAMILY RESPECT ACT

H.3745 provides that the office of the Governor will publish an informational pamphlet entitled ‘South Carolina Family Respect.’  The pamphlet must be distributed to the following government agencies, offices, and other entities:


all probate judges and clerks of court who issue marriage licenses who shall give it to each couple at the time they apply for the license


the Department of Social Services who shall give it to each person who applies for welfare benefits


the Department of Health and Environmental Control to be included and mailed out with each certified birth certificate issued


all public school districts in the State that teach sex education programs; all public school districts must include a discussion of the pamphlet in its sex and family education curriculum


all state and local agencies and institutions that provide health services including, but not limited to, family planning services and distribution of contraceptives, to be given to all pregnant minors, persons receiving birth control, and persons receiving information on family planning or sexually transmitted diseases


all local mental health centers to be distributed where appropriate in particular counseling situations


all county programs for adolescent pregnancy prevention initiatives


all public colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning to be distributed to all first year students during their orientation

Additionally, the pamphlet must be available for voluntary distribution to all clergy and counselors who provide marriage counseling, private high schools, private institutions of higher learning, and the general public.  

The bill designates the Friday before Mother’s Day of each year as ‘Family Respect Day’ in recognition of the important role the family unit plays in a healthy and productive society.  Additionally, the bill designates the week which includes the eleventh day of November in each year as ‘Patriotism Week.”

STATUS:
H.3745 was ratified (R455) on June 22.

ENVIRONMENT / NATURAL RESOURCES
Atlantic Interstate low-level radioactive waste 

compact implementation act

(See S.1129 under the State/ Local Government heading.)

CONSERVATION INCENTIVES ACT

The General Assembly passed H.3782, which among other items (see summary of "Technology Intensive Facilities Incentives" under Business/Economic Development heading of this document) includes the South Carolina Conservation Incentives Act. The Act is designed to protect and preserve natural areas by providing an income tax credit incentive for landowners voluntarily to convey lands or conservation easements to qualified conservation organizations.  The Act allows an income tax credit equal to twenty-five percent of the value of a federal income tax charitable deduction for a qualified conservation contribution of a qualified real property interest located in South Carolina.  A cap is provided on this credit.  The Act provides for a carry-forward of unused credit and makes the unused credit transferable upon notice to the Department of Revenue with the credit retaining all its attributes in the hands of the transferee. 

The Act also creates the Conservation Grant Fund as a separate and distinct fund within the State Treasury.  The income and principal of the fund must be used only: (1) to stimulate the use of conservation easements and fee simple gifts of land for conservation to qualified conservation organizations; (2) to improve the capacity of private nonprofit land trusts successfully to accomplish conservation projects; and (3) to provide an opportunity to leverage private and public monies for conservation easements.  The Conservation Grant Fund shall consist of any monies appropriated to it by the General Assembly and other monies received from public or private sources.  The board of the Department of Natural Resources serves ex officio as the Conservation Grant Fund Board with full authority over the administration of the fund.  Additionally, the legislation amends the South Carolina Probate Code so as to authorize a personal representative or trustee, as applicable, with the consent of all affected parties to make a donation of a qualified conservation easement to obtain a federal estate tax and state income tax credit benefit.  
STATUS:
H.3782 (Act 283) was signed by the Governor on May 19.
ILL-TREATMENT AND TORTURE OF ANIMALS

(See S.21 under the Criminal Justice heading.)

MARINE RESOURCES ACT

The General Assembly passed H.3617, the South Carolina Marine Resources Act, and the legislation was signed into law by the Governor on March 29.  The legislation provides for comprehensive revision and consolidation of all saltwater commercial and recreational fishing laws.  Inadequate, outdated and conflicting statutes are eliminated.  The major changes are as follows:


The Department of Natural Resources retains undedicated revenues derived from the regulation of saltwater fisheries;


Individual vessel licenses, trawler captain licenses, and the land & sell licenses are eliminated.  A new individual commercial fisherman license is allowed for the sale of catch to a licensed dealer;


Higher non-resident fees are required; 


A clear separation between commercial and non-commercial gear and their use is provided;


The Department of Natural Resources is authorized to issue permits to shellfish growers to use the water columns to grow oysters and clams;


The recreational limit on oysters and clams remains at two bushels of oysters and one half bushel of clams per day, but no more than two daily limits may be harvested each week;


The Department of Natural Resources will manage shad, herring, and sturgeon fishing through regulations in each river system based on the health of the fish stocks in each river;


The act allows the taking of shrimp over bait from private docks.

STATUS:
H.3617 (Act 245) was signed by the Governor on March 29.
HEALTH / SOCIAL SERVICES

CHILD DAY CARE CENTERS RUN BY RELIGIOUS INSTITUTIONS
S.199 addresses child day care centers run by religious institutions and makes various other revisions to state laws governing the operation of child day care facilities and group day care homes.  The bill subjects religious day care facilities to registration and inspection procedures and requirements for floor space, child-staff ratio, and staff training required of other day care facilities.  A statement of registration must be issued to a religious day care facility upon satisfactory completion of prescribed procedures.  Religious facilities must display the statement of registration conspicuously on the premises and state the registration number in all advertisements.  Inspection of religious day care facilities must be conducted before registration renewal.  The Department of Social Services (DSS) may not prescribe the curriculum for religious day care staff training, other than curriculum which addresses administration, child growth and development, and health and safety.  DSS may not prescribe the content of curriculum activities for children that are provided in religious day care centers.   

S.199 makes various other revisions pertaining to child day care centers and group day care homes.  Child day care centers and group day care homes must display their license number in all advertisements; family day care homes must state their registration number in all advertisements.  The bill makes various revisions to legal definitions of child day care facilities, to include, among other things, certain day camps and summer resident camps under the term “child day care facilities.”  The bill revises conditions for seeking an injunction against an operator of a child day care center or group day home.  The bill eliminates the power of DSS to issue a declaratory order on drawings and specifications of proposed construction.  Instead, the bill authorizes DSS to offer consultation on proposed construction at the request of day care operators.

STATUS:
S.199 (Act 220) was signed by the Governor on February 25.
SAFE HAVEN FOR ABANDONED BABIES ACT 

(See H.4743 under the Criminal Justice heading.)

MENTAL HEALTH PARITY

The General Assembly approved S.1041, which requires the "State health insurance plan" (defined as health insurance plans offered or administered by the State Budget and Control Board) to provide coverage for treatment of a "mental health condition" and "alcohol or substance abuse.”  Mental health condition is defined as any mental or nervous condition that is caused by a biological disorder of the brain and results in a clinically significant or psychological syndrome or pattern that substantially limits the functioning of the person with that illness, limited to:  schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, major depressive disorder, bipolar disorder, pervasive developmental disorder or autism, panic disorder, obsessive‑compulsive disorder, social anxiety disorder, anorexia, bulimia, asperger’s disorder, intermittent explosive disorder, post‑traumatic stress disorder, psychosis not otherwise specified when diagnosed in a child under seventeen years of age, Rett’s disorder, or Tourette’s disorder.  Alcohol or substance abuse is defined as a condition or disorder involving alcohol or substance abuse that falls under any of the categories listed in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual IV or subsequent editions.

The bill prohibits the establishment of any term or condition that places a greater financial burden on an insured for access to treatment for a mental health condition or alcohol or substance abuse than for access to treatment for a physical health condition. The bill specifies that any deductible or out-of-pocket limits required under these insurance plans must be comprehensive for coverage of mental health conditions, alcohol or substance abuse, and physical health conditions. The bill requires that to be eligible for this coverage under these plans, the treatment must be rendered by a licensed health professional who is acting within the scope of his or her license and in accordance with the provisions of the plan or contract. 

The bill provides that if the state health insurance plan does not otherwise provide for management of care under the plan or does not provide for the same degree of management of care for all health conditions, they may provide management of care for treatment of mental health conditions and alcohol or substance abuse as long as the management of care does not diminish or negate the purpose of the bill.  The bill requires that the management of care must ensure that timely and appropriate access to care is available; that the quantity, location, and specialty distribution of health care providers is adequate; and that administrative or clinical protocols do not reduce access to medically necessary treatment for any insured.

The bill provides that for the state health plan, a portion of the increase in total health insurance costs resulting from these provisions must be borne by the persons covered under that plan. 

The bill allows the state health insurance plan to opt out of the requirements of this bill if, as a result of this coverage, the total health insurance costs of the state health insurance plan increase by more than one percent by the end of the three year period beginning January 1, 2002, and ending December 31, 2004; or by more than 3.39 percent at any time during this three year period.  

The bill requires the Budget and Control Board to conduct a study to assess the impact of the bill for the period beginning January 1, 2002 through December 31, 2003, using actual incurred claims for that period as paid through July 1, 2004.  The Budget and Control Board is required to report its findings to the General Assembly by December 31, 2004.  

In the event that any provision of the bill or any application of a provision to any person or circumstance is held to be unconstitutional, the bill provides that the remainder of the bill and its application to any person or circumstance shall not be affected.

The effective date of the bill is upon approval by the Governor except that the requirements regarding the State health insurance plan (Section 1 of the bill) take effect January 1, 2002.  The Act is repealed January 1, 2005.

STATUS:
S.1041 (Act 341) was signed by the Governor on June 6.

PRESCRIPTION DRUGS FOR SENIORS 

The General Assembly included in the 2000-2001 budget plan a permanent law provision (H.4775, Part II, Section 47) cited as the "South Carolina Seniors' Prescription Drug Program Act" (the Act).  The Office of Insurance Services of the State Budget and Control Board will administer the program (they may contract with or designate other entities for assistance); maintain data on the program; and report semiannually specified data to the Governor and to the General Assembly.

Beginning January 1, 2001, the program must provide financial assistance for purchasing prescription drugs to South Carolina residents age sixty-five or over who:  have resided in South Carolina at least six consecutive months before participation in the program;  are ineligible for Medicaid prescription benefits; do not have any pharmacy benefits or coverage from any insurance program and; have an annual income that does not exceed 150% of the federal poverty level.  The Act provides a definition for "prescription drugs" for purposes of the program.

The Act provides that priority must be given to applicants without Medicare supplements or other third party benefits or coverage during the six months before application, and also provides that if seniors served by the program become eligible for substantially the same benefits under a federal program, the Office of Insurance Services may reevaluate the program benefits and funding and may increase the program up to two hundred percent of poverty for senior citizens who otherwise are eligible for the program if program funding will support the expansion.  The Act also provides that the program may only be expanded if funds are available through appropriations, interest earned, and other revenue that may have been received including, but not limited to, federal funding.

The Act provides that the program must be funded from proceeds received by the State in the settlement agreement and related documents, between the State and United States tobacco manufacturers dated November 23, 1998.

The Act also requires the Department of Health and Human Services (the department) to apply, by June 30, 2001, to the Federal Health Care Financing Administration for a Medicaid waiver to expand prescription drug services to Medicare beneficiaries.  If federal approval is obtained, the Act requires the department to assist the Office of Insurance Services in assessing the impact of the federal funds on the program in terms of expanding coverage to seniors whose incomes do not exceed one hundred seventy-five percent of poverty, and requires that the program must be expanded up to two hundred percent of poverty if funds are available to support the expansion.

STATUS:
These provisions were approved by the General Assembly under



Part II (permanent law provisions), Section 47, of H.4775, the

2000-2001 General Appropriations Bill.
HOLIDAYS / HERITAGE

CONFEDERATE BATTLE FLAG

As of 12:00 noon on July 1, 2000, and permanently thereafter, S.1266 authorizes only the United States Flag and the South Carolina State Flag to fly atop the dome of the State House and in the chambers of the Senate and House.  Under this bill, the term “chambers” does not include individual members’ offices.  The bill includes language stating that a private individual on the capitol complex grounds is not prohibited from wearing as a part of his or her clothing or carrying or displaying any type of flag including a Confederate flag.

As of 12:00 noon on July 1, 2000, S.1266 authorizes the South Carolina Infantry Battle Flag of the Confederate States of America to be flown on the grounds of the Capitol Complex.  Additionally, the bill provides that the South Carolina Infantry Battle Flag of the Confederate States of America must be located at a point on the south side of the Confederate Soldier Monument, centered on the monument, ten feet from the base of the monument at a height of thirty feet.  The flagpole on which the flag is flown and the area adjacent to the monument and flagpole must be illuminated at night and an appropriate decorative iron fence must be erected around the flagpole.  Also, the bill outlines the dimensions of the South Carolina Infantry Battle Flag of the Confederate States of America.  

The Division of General Services of the Budget and Control Board is charged with replacing the United States Flag, the South Carolina State Flag, and the South Carolina Infantry Battle Flag of the Confederate States of America as may be necessary due to wear.  Provisions regarding the placement of the United States Flag, the South Carolina State Flag, and the South Carolina Infantry Battle Flag of the Confederate States of America, may only be amended or repealed upon passage of an act which has received a two-thirds vote on the third reading of the bill in each branch of the General Assembly.

Under this bill, it is unlawful for a person to wilfully and maliciously deface, vandalize, damage, or destroy or attempt to deface, vandalize, damage, or destroy any monument, flag, flag support, memorial, structure or fence located on the capitol grounds.  Penalties are established for failure to comply. 

S.1266 requires that the Confederate flags removed from above the rostrum in the chambers of the House and Senate and from the dome of the State House to be placed and permanently displayed in a suitable location in the State Museum.  All orders for Confederate flags placed with the Sergeant at Arms and paid for in full as of May 31, 2000 must be filled.

Under S.1266, no Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Mexican War, War Between the States, Spanish‑American War, World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, Persian Gulf War, Native American, or African‑American History monuments or memorials erected on public property of the State or any of its political subdivisions may be relocated, removed, disturbed, or altered.  No street, bridge, structure, park, preserve, reserve, or other public area of the State or any of its political subdivisions dedicated in memory of or named for any historic figure or historic event may be renamed or rededicated.  No person may prevent the public body responsible for the monument or memorial from taking proper measures and exercising proper means for the protection, preservation, and care of these monuments, memorials or nameplates.  Provisions regarding the markers and memorials may only be amended or repealed upon passage of an act which has 

received a two-thirds vote on the third reading of the bill in each branch of the General Assembly.

STATUS:
S.1266 (Act 292) was signed by the Governor on May 23.
STATE HOLIDAYS

S.60 establishes Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday and Confederate Memorial Day as regular state holidays.  Under this bill, Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday would be observed on the third Monday in January.  The bill provides for the observance of Confederate Memorial Day on May 10.  The bill provides that general election day is no longer a state holiday.  Also, the bill eliminates the current provision under which state employees choose from a list of optional holidays or take a day of their own choosing. 

STATUS:
S.60 (Act 246) was signed by the Governor on May 1.

INSURANCE

CAPTIVE INSURANCE COMPANIES

The General Assembly passed H.4467 which was signed into law by the Governor on June 6.  The act provides for the licensure, regulation, and operation of captive insurance companies.  A captive insurance company is an insurance company which exists only to insure the risks of its parent and affiliated companies.  Companies rely upon captive insurers when coverage is not readily obtainable in the traditional insurance market.  The legislation is offered to encourage captive insurance companies to establish themselves in South Carolina.

STATUS:
H.4467 (Act 331) was signed by the Governor on June 6.
PROTECTED CELL INSURANCE COMPANIES

The General Assembly passed H.4442, the Protected Cell Insurance Company Act, which was signed into law by the Governor on March 7.  This act establishes a method by which a domestic insurer can create a protected “cell.”  A protected cell is a pool of assets and liabilities which is segregated and insulated from a company’s other assets and liabilities.  The legislation offers companies the protected cell option in an attempt to correct certain conditions in the insurance market place such as those which currently leave coastal residents with little or no choice when obtaining catastrophic insurance coverage.  Due to the perennial threat of hurricanes on the South Carolina coast and the rash of bankruptcies resulting from the damage of Hurricane Andrew in Florida, few insurance companies are choosing to write catastrophic coverage for coastal residents.  In order to protect insurers from the threat of bankruptcy, the bill allows a property and casualty company to segregate its homeowners’ business within a protected cell and securitize it.  Proponents of the legislation hope that this will encourage insurers to write policies which they would not now consider, thereby providing consumers with more choices when shopping for coverage.

STATUS:
H.4467 (Act 238) was signed by the Governor on March 7.

MENTAL HEALTH PARITY

(See S.1041, Mental Health Parity, under "Health / Social Services" Section)

STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN

(See under State/Local Government heading of this document)

STATE / LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Atlantic Interstate low-level radioactive waste 

compact implementation act

The primary function of S.1129 is to establish South Carolina as a member of the Atlantic Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact.  The bill stipulates the conditions that must be met prior to South Carolina’s membership in the Atlantic Compact.    

The South Carolina Budget and Control Board (board) is charged with overseeing disposal rates and importation of nonregional waste into the State.  The board must approve disposal rates for low-level radioactive waste disposed at any regional rates facility located within the State.  The approval of disposal rates is neither a regulation nor the promulgation of a regulation as those terms are used in Title 1 (Administration of Government), Chapter 23 (State Agency Rule Making and Adjudication of Contested Cases).  The board must adopt a rate schedule for regional generators containing disposal rates that include (1) certain administrative surcharges, (2) surcharges for the extended custody and maintenance of the facility, and (3) do not exceed the approximate disposal rates, excluding any access fees and including a specification of the methodology for calculating fees for large components, generally applicable to regional generators on September 7, 1999.  Any disposal rates contained in a valid written agreement that differ from rates in the maximum uniform rate schedule will continue to be honored through the term of such agreement.  The maximum uniform rate schedule will become effective immediately upon South Carolina’s membership in the Atlantic Compact.  Absent action by the board to establish disposal rates for nonregional generators, rates applicable to these generators must be equal to those contained in the maximum uniform rate schedule approved by the board for regional generators.  

The bill outlines the maximum volume of waste that the State may accept each year.  No nonregional waste may enter the State after 2008.  In all matters relating to the Act, the board will represent the interests of the State.

The first two million dollars of revenue must be allotted to the Barnwell County Treasurer for distribution to other parties.  The State Treasurer must allocate all revenue (in excess of two million dollars) to the Nuclear Waste Disposal Receipts Distribution Fund.  All funds deposited in the Nuclear Waste Disposal Receipts fund for waste disposed for each fiscal year, less the amount needed to provide generator rebates, must be deposited in the Children’s Education Endowment Fund.  30% of these monies must be allocated to Higher Education Scholarship Grants, and 70% of these monies must be allocated to Public School Facility Assistance.  Effective beginning fiscal year 2001-2002, there is appropriated annually from the general fund of the State to the Higher Education Scholarship Grants share of the Children’s Higher Education Endowment whatever amount is necessary to credit to the Higher Education Scholarship Grants share an amount not less than the amount credited to that portion of the endowment for fiscal year 1999-2000.

In the event that either operating parties abandon their responsibilities or a facility’s license is transferred to a state agency, the board is responsible for extended custody and maintenance of radioactive materials.  Money from the extended care maintenance fund will cover this cost.  The board is relieved of certain duties pertaining to assessments, surcharges and penalty charges on nonsite waste received at the regional disposal facility.  

The Governor’s Nuclear Advisory Council is authorized to offer advice and recommendations on matters relating to the Atlantic Compact Commission.

STATUS:
S.1129 was signed by the Governor on June 6.
CAMPAIGN FINANCE REFORMS

The General Assembly passed S.250, a bill that institutes a variety of campaign finance reforms.  Highlights of this legislation include:


Extends the deadline in which lobbyists and lobbyist principals must report any lobbying activity not reflected on the October tenth report and not reported on a statement of termination from December thirty-first to January tenth of the succeeding year. 


Extends the deadline for submission of each State agency or State department’s lobbying during a particular filing period from the first of the month to the tenth of the month.  Under the bill, the filing periods are from January first to March thirty-first for the April tenth report and from April first to September thirtieth for the October tenth report.  The bill further provides that any lobbying activity not reflected on the October tenth report and not on a statement of termination must be reported any later than January tenth of the succeeding year.

Eliminates the $500 cap on civil penalties for failure to file required reports.  Under current law an individual must pay a mandatory $100 penalty if required reports are not filed within five days of due date; additionally, the individual must pay a fine of $10 for each calendar day in which the required statement is not filed, not exceeding $500.

Creates a new penalty for failure to file required reports or other reporting violations.  Current law provides for a penalty on not less than $5000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.  In addition to current law, S.250 adds a fine of up to 500% of the amount that should have been reported.

Defines the term “influence the outcome of an elective office” for purposes of determining who has to file disclosure reports:
(a)
Express words advocating the election or defeat of candidates [i.e. “vote for” “elect” “defeat”];

(b) 
Campaign slogans or words which have no other meaning than to urge the election or defeat of a candidate; or

(c) 
Communications about a public issue, made not more than 45 days before an election, that references a clearly identifiable candidate, that but for the reference would not as a whole convey a clear message concerning the public issue, and that is reasonably suggestive of primarily advocating the election or defeat of a candidate.


Provides the House and Senate Ethics Committees with jurisdiction to impose penalties against legislative caucus committees that violate ethics laws.

Adds an “individual” who makes independent expenditures of $500 or more during an election cycle for the purpose of influencing the outcome of an elective office to the group of persons and entities that must file disclosure reports.

Requires an “individual” who makes an independent expenditure totaling $1,000 or more during an election cycle for the purpose of influencing the outcome of a ballot measure to file disclosure reports.

Requires a political party, legislative caucus committee, and a party committee to file disclosure reports upon receipt of anything of value, including campaign contributions and operational funds, which total $2,500 or more. 

Removes ballot measure from the definition of election.


Defines the term “ballot measure committee” as 

(a)
an association, club, an organization, or a group of persons which, to influence the outcome of a ballot measure, receives contributions or makes expenditures in excess of $1,000 in the aggregate during an election cycle;

(b)
a person, other than an individual, who, to influence the outcome of a ballot measure makes contributions aggregating at least $50,000 during an election cycle to, or at least at the request of, a ballot measure committee; or

(c)
a person, other than an individual, who makes independent expenditures aggregating $1,000 or more during an election cycle


Requires a ballot measure committee, except an out‑of‑state committee, which receives or expends more than $1,000 in the aggregate during an election cycle to influence the outcome of a ballot measure to file a statement of organization with the State Ethics Commission no later than five days after receiving the contribution or making the expenditure.  The bill also outlines other reports that the ballot measure committee must file.


Requires an out‑of‑state ballot measure committee which expends more than $1,000 in the aggregate during an election cycle to influence the outcome of a ballot measure to file a statement of organization with the State Ethics Commission no later than five days after making the expenditure.  The bill also outlines other reports that the ballot measure committee must file.


Provides that during the 50-day period before an election when complaints may not be accepted by the various ethics commissions, any person may petition the court of common pleas alleging the violations complained of and praying for appropriate relief by way of a mandamus or injunction.  Within 10 days, a rule to show cause hearing must be held and the court shall either dismiss the petition, or direct that a mandamus order or an injunction or both be issued.  A violation of this chapter by a candidate during the 50-day period must be considered to be an irreparable injury for which no adequate remedy at law exists.  The institution of an action for injunctive relief does not relieve any party to the proceeding from any penalty prescribed for violations of this chapter.  In the event the court dismisses a petition for mandamus or injunctive relief based upon a finding that the petition is frivolous, the court must award reasonable attorneys fees and costs to the non-petitioning party. 


Prohibits a political party through its party committees or legislative caucus committees from giving to a candidate contributions which total in the aggregate more than (1) $50,000 in the case of a candidate for a statewide office; (2) $5,000 in the case of a candidate for any other office.  The recipient of a contribution given in violation of this provision may not keep the contribution, but within 10 days must remit the contribution to the Children’s Trust Fund.

Eliminates the requirement that campaign reports must be sent to the State Election Commission.  

Eliminates the State Election Commission as the location for public availability of certified campaign reports.

Substitutes the State Ethics Commission for the State Election Commission as the agency responsible for determining errors or omissions on campaign reports.

Most of the provisions of this bill take effect November 8, 2000 and expire on November 5, 2002.  However, S.250 create a 15-member commission to study and recommend changes and additions to the Ethics Act which puts constitutionally permissible limitations on “soft money’s” influence on campaigns and other campaign finance reforms.  
STATUS: 
S.250 was ratified (R439) on June 22.

CONFEDERATE BATTLE FLAG

(See S.1266 under the Holidays / Heritage heading.)

INTERNET PORNOGRAPHY ON LIBRARY 

AND SCHOOL COMPUTERS

H.4426 provides measures to reduce the accessibility of pornographic web sites on computers that (1) can access the Internet, (2) are available for use by the public and/or students, and (3) are located in a lending library supported by public funds, a public school library or media center, or public institutions of higher learning.  The bill provides that use policies for these computers shall be determined by the institution's governing board, which must adopt and enforce policies to reduce access to web sites containing material which is in violation of current obscenity statutes.  The bill provides that a governmental entity is not liable for a loss resulting from the failure of a library’s or media arts center’s governing board to adopt policies.  Additionally, under the bill a pilot program will be established to assess the feasibility of installing Internet filtering software in libraries and institutions specified in the bill (medical schools would be exempt).  The bill includes provisions and procedures for the pilot program, and requires a report to the General Assembly of findings from the pilot program by December 1, 2001. 

STATUS:
H.4426 was ratified (R461) on June 22.  These provisions, with the exception of the pilot program, are also included in Part II, §97 of H.4775, the 2000-2001 general appropriation bill.

MUNICIPAL INCORPORATION AND ANNEXATION
S.226 provides that areas proposed for incorporation as a municipality must be contiguous.  Contiguous property is one that is adjacent to a municipality and shares a continuous border.  For the purposes of municipal annexation contiguity is not established by a road, waterway, right-of-way, easement, railroad track, marshland, or utility line which connects one property to another; however, if the connecting road, waterway, easement, railroad track, marshland, or utility line intervenes between two properties, which but for the intervening connector would be adjacent and share a continuous border, the intervening connector does not destroy contiguity.  Areas may still be considered contiguous even if they are divided by an intervening marshland located in the tidal flow or an intervening publicly‑owned waterway, whether or not the marshland located in the tidal flow or the publicly-owned waterway has been previously incorporated or annexed by another municipality.  The incorporation of a marshland located in the tidal flow or a publicly‑owned waterway does not preclude the marshland located in the tidal flow or the publicly‑owned waterway from subsequently being used by any other municipality to establish contiguity for purposes of incorporation if the distance from highland to highland of the area being incorporated is not greater than three-fourths of a mile.  

S.226 imposes new notification and public hearing requirements on municipalities which are preparing to act on an annexation petition.  The bill provides that not less than 30 days before acting on an annexation petition, the annexing municipality must give notice of a public hearing by publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the community, by posting the notice of the public hearing on the municipal bulletin board, and by written notification to the taxpayer of record of all properties within the area proposed to be annexed, to the chief administrative officer of the county, to all public service or special purpose districts, and all fire departments, whether volunteer or full-time.  The public hearing must include a map of the proposed annexation area, a complete legal description of the proposed annexation area, a statement as to what public services are to be assumed or provided by the municipality, and the taxes and fees required for these services.  The notice must include a projected timetable for the provision or assumption of these services.

Currently, petitions for corporation should include the proposed corporate limits, the number of inhabitants therein, and must be signed by 50 qualified electors and 15% of the freeholders who reside within the proposed municipality.  Under this bill, the petition must only be signed by 15% of the qualified electors who reside within the proposed municipality.

S.226 changes references in the statutes from “city or town” to “municipality.”  This bill eliminates the requirement that an election must be ordered to see if a certain territory should be annexed; the bill deletes statutes and references in statutes to such elections. 

STATUS:
S.226 (Act 250) was signed by the Governor on May 1.

EMPLOYEE ISSUES


STATE EMPLOYEE PAY PLAN

The 2000-2001 budget plan includes a temporary law section providing a 2.5% base pay increase and an average 1% merit increase for classified state employees.  The base pay increase is effective July 1, 2000,  and the merit increase, if awarded to the employee, is effective the pay period following the employee’s performance review date.

STATUS:
Approved by the General Assembly as a part of the 2000-2001



budget plan.


STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM

$70.5 million was appropriated in the 2000-2001 budget plan for the State Health Insurance Program.  This funding includes $6.3 million to reimburse the school districts of the State for the 10% state health insurance premium increase which began on January 1, 2000; an additional $29.2 million to annualize the 10% state health insurance premium increase which began on January 1, 2000 for state agencies and school districts; $10.2 million to fund a required 22 day reserve; an additional $21.5 million to fund a 20% state health insurance premium increase for FY 00-01; and  $3.3 million to fund Employee Health Insurance- Retiree Growth.

The 2000-2001 budget plan also includes changes in the State Employee Health Insurance program.  The following adjustments in the plan are effective January 1, 2001:

(1) all employee-paid premiums are increased by five dollars a month;


(2) individual deductibles in the economy and standard plans are increased 

     by fifty dollars and family deductibles in both plans are increased by one 

     hundred dollars;

(3) the coinsurance amount in the standard plan is revised from fifteen to 

     twenty percent and revised in the economy plan from twenty to twenty-

     five percent;

(4) the "cap" on the prescription drug benefit is reduced from fifteen hundred 

     dollars to one thousand dollars. 

Additionally, when an adjustment requires increased employee contributions or has the effect of reducing benefits, a public hearing must be held on the adjustments and no such adjustments may be made except while the General Assembly is meeting in regular session.

All other elements of the plans including, but not limited to, the fifteen hundred dollar "cap" and the elements of the prescription drug benefit must remain unchanged from the manner in which the plans operated on January 1, 2000. 

STATUS:
Approved by the General Assembly as a part of the 2000-2001

budget plan.


28 YEAR RETIREMENT, TEACHER/EMPLOYEE RETENTION INCENTIVE PROGRAM (TERI), RETIREMENT SYSTEMS, PENSIONS; BENEFITS, INSURANCE WHEN RETIREE DIES

The General Assembly included as a permanent provision in H.3649 a plan for 28 year retirement without penalty, and the Teacher and Employee Retention Incentive (TERI) Program. 

While there is not a penalty for retiring with 28 years of service, reducing the number of years of service eligibility may raise the issue of income replacement rate for some employees.  The current formula yields a rate of 54.6% of salary (30 years x 1.82% per year = 54.6%).  Reducing years of service in his/her formula reduces the rate. The 28 year retirement provision will become effective January 1, 2001. 

	Years of service
	Income replacement rate 

	30
	54.6 % salary

	29
	52.8 % salary

	28
	51.0 % salary

	27
	49.1 % salary

	26
	47.3 % salary

	25
	45.5 % salary


The Teachers and Employees Retirement Incentive program or TERI is an incentive for experienced employees to remain in the workforce. A TERI allows an employee to “retire,” and begin accumulating their retirement benefits in a tax deferred account until the employee stops working. The tax deferred account does not accrue interest, but would be eligible for cost of living adjustments given to retirees.  The employee could then continue to work for his\her current employer for up to 5 more years. When the employee stops working at the end of that five-year period, the employee can receive the money in a lump sum, or roll the funds over into another qualified plan. In order to participate in the TERI program, there cannot be a break in service between the time of retirement and entering the TERI program. The TERI program will become effective January 1, 2001. 

The lump sum benefit represents the accumulation of retirement benefits paid during the TERI period.   For example, if employee X has an average final compensation at retirement of $36,000, with 28 years of service and selects the maximum retirement benefit, his/her monthly retirement benefit would equate to approximately $1,529.  If employee X elects to continue working for an additional 5 years under the TERI, his/her TERI account would accumulate $91,740 ($1529 X 60 months).  At the end of the TERI period, when he/she terminates employment, he/she would be eligible to receive the lump sum amount in addition to his/her monthly retirement benefit of $1529.

This proviso also increases insurance benefits on behalf of a deceased retired member under the group life insurance program for both the South Carolina Retirement System and the South Carolina Police Officer’s Retirement System (one thousand dollars is increased to two thousand dollars; two thousand dollars is increased to four thousand dollars; and three thousand dollars is increased to six thousand dollars).  Additionally, the section eliminates the recoupment provision in the month a retiree dies.  As a result, the family of the deceased will not have to repay the prorated amount of the deceased retiree’s monthly benefit.

Extending the unfunded liability on the retirement system pays for these benefit enhancements.

STATUS:
H.3649 was ratified (R453) on June 22.


SERVICE PURCHASE REFORM
Currently, the South Carolina Retirement Systems (SCRS) allow certain members to purchase various types of service credit toward their retirement eligibility.  This privilege is not available to all members.  Also, the costs to buy service vary; periods of service eligibility differ; and what is or is not a permissible purchase of service has, according to the SCRS, often been misunderstood.

Part II (permanent law provisos), Section 67 of H.4775, the 2000-2001 General Appropriation Bill, simplifies the statutes governing service purchases by repealing most of the provisions and replacing them with far fewer, but more comprehensive provisions. The proviso is effective January 1, 2001.

The proviso allows an SCRS member to purchase the following types of service: public service employment; service as a teacher in a primary or secondary private school; up to six years of military service (including the National Guard and the Reserves); approved leaves of absence without pay; previously withdrawn service; and non-qualified service, which would allow the purchase of up to five years of non-qualified time. 

Under this proviso, every active SCRS member will be eligible to purchase service credit.  The cost to purchase service credit will be uniform and purchases will be eligible for installment loan program financing.  Members may also use 401(k) funds to purchase service.  The cost for service purchases (except previously withdrawn service and non-qualifying service) will be 16 percent of current salary, or career highest salary, whichever is greater.

The proviso also allows active contributing members who have five or more years of earned service credit to establish up to five years of non-qualified service at a cost of 35 percent of current salary or career highest year salary, whichever is higher, for each year of credit purchased.  Members who left previous employment and received a refund of their contributions plus interest may reestablish this service upon returning to active membership by repaying the amount they withdrew plus interest to the date their request is received.  At its discretion, the employer may pay all or part of the cost for an employee’s service credit purchase.  Any such payment would be treated as employer contributions.

The proviso provides that a transition period of six to twelve months will be implemented so the Retirement Systems may modify its programs for service purchase and installment loans, disseminate information to its members, and conduct training.  When setting new rates for service purchases, a period of time in which members may purchase service at the current rates will be offered.  This period will allow members sufficient time to fulfill their current service purchase plans.

The proviso reforms the payment options available to retiring members by eliminating the Social Security option and two other options, leaving a maximum payment plan and two survivor (beneficiary protection) options in which the member’s benefit will revert to the maximum if his/her beneficiary predeceases him.

STATUS:
This permanent law proviso was adopted by the General Assembly 

as a part of H.4775, the 2000-2001 General Appropriation Bill.

OPTIONAL RETIREMENT PROGRAM FOR TEACHERS AND 

SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS

The General Assembly passed H.4416, which provides that teachers and school administrators first employed after June 30, 2000, shall irrevocably elect either to join the South Carolina Retirement System or to participate in the Optional Retirement Plan (ORP) within ninety days after entry into service.

The Optional Retirement Program (State ORP) is a defined contribution plan to be made available to public school (kindergarten through grade twelve) teachers, specialists, coordinators, and administrators.  In the first year of the program, the participants have until December 1, 2000, to elect.  Those who make no such election are presumed to have opted for participation in the South Carolina Retirement System.  However, after sixty months in the Optional Retirement Plan, a participant may within ninety after the expiration of sixty months after the employee’s initial enrollment in the optional retirement program, opt to leave the ORP and participate in the South Carolina Retirement System.

Provisions are established for administration of the optional program and the manner in which contributions are to be made to the program. Each employer shall contribute on behalf of each participant the same amount it would be required to contribute to the South Carolina Retirement System if the participant were a

member of that system. In any event, the contribution to the retirement system must not be less than two and fifty‑five hundredths percent of the employee’s compensation.  The act takes effect July 1, 2000.

STATUS:
H.4416 (Act 268) was signed by the Governor on May 1.

STATE HOLIDAYS

(See S.60 under the Holidays / Heritage heading.)

TAX RELIEF

CONSERVATION INCENTIVES ACT/TECHNOLOGY INTENSIVE FACILITIES INCENTIVE
(See these titles, included as separate summaries of H.3782, under the Business / Economic Development and under the Environment / Natural Resources headings of this document.)

INCREASE IN HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION

H.3699 increases the homestead exemption from the current $20,000 to $50,000, an exemption increase of 150%.  This is the first increase since 1984, when the exemption was raised from $15,000.  The exemption increase to $50,000 provides an additional $37.5 million in tax relief for these homeowners.  ($54 million was allocated annually to fund the previous $20,000 exemption; therefore, total tax relief from the homestead exemption now totals $91 million annually).  

The homestead exemption affects over 267,000 homes owned by persons aged 65 and older, or persons of any age who are blind or disabled.  This exemption benefits one-fourth of all homeowners in SC.  The additional $37.5 million in state funded tax relief will exempt one-half of the homes eligible for the exemption from all local property taxes and significantly reduces local property taxes on the remaining eligible homeowners.

STATUS:
H.3699 passed the General Assembly.  The Governor vetoed 

provisions of the joint resolution relating to the method of funding

an increase in the homestead exemption after the 2000 property

tax year.  The House continued these two vetoes on May 30.
PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RELIEF

Part II, Section 99 of H.4775 enacts the Personal Property Tax Exemption Sales Tax Act.  This Act authorizes, subject to favorable referendum, the imposition of a sales and use tax in a county in increments of one-tenth of one percent, not to exceed two percent, to rescind the local property tax.  The new sales tax revenue will be used to replace property tax revenues not collected due to the local referendum on private passenger motor vehicles, motorcycles, general aviation aircraft, boats, and boat motors.  These items would then be exempt from property taxes levied in the county.

This legislation also requires that any shortfall from the imposition of the sales tax will be made up by a distribution from the Trust Fund for Tax Relief.  After the first year, all subsequent shortfall payments will be adjusted by the Consumer Price Index.

The legislation requires the BEA to re-certify the sales tax rate necessary to replace the personal property tax in the years the assessment ratio for these properties is reduced.  This would result from the approval of the constitutional referendum this November that would reduce the assessment ratio on this property from 10.5% to 6%.

Finally, the bill adds the shortfall reimbursement for personal property taxes to the Trust Fund for Tax Relief.

A referendum, set for November 2000, is authorized in H.4856 to institute this proviso.

STATUS:
H.4775, the 2000-2001 General Appropriation Bill, passed both

the House and the Senate and has been ratified (R466).  H.4856

was also approved by the General Assembly and has been

ratified (R469).
SALES TAX HOLIDAY

The General Assembly included a permanent provision in the 2000-2001 General Appropriation Bill (H.4775) which exempts clothing, clothing accessories, footwear, school supplies, computers and computer software, and computer printers and printer supplies, from sales tax each year during three days beginning on the first Friday in August.  The provision also requires the Department of Revenue before July tenth of each year to publish and make available to the public and retailers a list of the articles qualifying for this exemption.

STATUS:
H.4775, the 2000-2001 General Appropriation Bill, was approved by

the General Assembly and has been ratified (R466).

FOOD TAX RELIEF 

The General Assembly passed a temporary proviso in H.3649 that begins the elimination of the sales tax on food, reducing the tax by one cent each year for five years.  Eighteen states impose a sales tax on food and only 3 states have a higher tax on food than South Carolina.  When fully phased out, South Carolina will no longer tax food. The fiscal impact for FY 2001 is $24.6 million, which will be the first year of phase-out (beginning January 2001); thereafter, each penny in reduced tax will reduce revenue at least $50 million per year.

Food is defined as food items eligible for purchase with US Department of Agriculture food stamps.  This is generally food for home consumption.  During the phase-out period, tax generated from food sales will be allocated as currently mandated, 80% to the General Fund and 20% to the EIA Fund.

This proviso also enacts language providing that food tax relief will not reduce General Fund appropriations supporting public schools.  

STATUS:
H.3649 was ratified (R453) on June 22.

TOBACCO 

Part II, Section 69 of the Appropriations Act (H.4775) creates the Tobacco Settlement Revenue Management Authority Act that will enable the Authority to sell special source bonds to convert future payments from the Master Settlement Agreement to current funds.  The Authority would receive the tobacco settlement payments after June 30, 2001, issue bonds payable from and secured solely by these settlement receipts, and use the bond receipts as authorized.

The Authority’s board would consist of the members of the Budget and Control Board.  The Authority cannot pledge the faith, credit, or taxing power of the State in connection with the bonds.  Bonds of the Authority are not a general, legal, nor moral obligation of the State.

Of the Master Settlement Agreement payments owed to South Carolina, the following funds will receive the proportions indicated: the Healthcare Tobacco Settlement Trust Fund (73%); the Tobacco Community Trust Fund (15%); the Tobacco Settlement Economic Development Fund (10%); and, the Tobacco Settlement Local Government Fund (2%).

The bond receipts from the 73% of the settlement payments allocated to the Healthcare Tobacco Settlement Trust Fund revenues must remain in the fund and only the interest earnings may be expended annually on health related issues as determined by the General Assembly.  However, for FY2000-01, $20 million from the principal derived from securitization is allocated for hospital base increases.
Bond receipts from the 15% allocated to the Tobacco Community Trust Fund are to be used for tobacco community programs including reimbursement to tobacco growers, quota holders, and warehousemen for losses due to reduced quotas;

Bond receipts from the 10% allocated to the Tobacco Settlement Economic Development Fund must be allocated to the Water and Wastewater Infrastructure Fund for major water and wastewater projects of governmental units and private entities to spur economic development.  For FY2000-01 only, the first $80 million is allocated for these purposes and the next $10 million is allocated for automobile car tax relief.  Any remaining funds are allocated to the Water and Wastewater Infrastructure Fund.  Nonetheless, a temporary proviso, 72.93 in H.4775, appropriates $10 million to the Personal Property Tax Relief Fund established pursuant to Section 12-37-2735 from funds set aside in the Tobacco Settlement Economic Development Fund.
The Tobacco Settlement Local Government Fund (2%) will fund operations of and grants by the Office of Local Government of the Division of Regional Development of the Budget & Control Board.

STATUS:
These provisions were included in H.4775, the 2000-2001 General



Appropriations Bill, which has passed the House and the Senate and



which has been ratified (R466).
TRANSPORTATION

SCHOOL BUS SAFETY ("JACOB'S LAW")

The General Assembly approved H.3300, which requires that beginning July 1, 2000, any entity transporting preprimary, primary, or secondary school students to or from school, school-related activities, or child care and using a vehicle designed to carry a driver and more than ten passengers must transport these students in a vehicle meeting federal school bus safety standards.  School buses must meet all federal safety regulations and standards. A vehicle purchased before July 1, 2000, does not have to comply with the requirements of the bill until July 1, 2006.  Vehicles acquired on or after July 1, 2000, must meet the requirements of the bill at the time of purchase.

The bill provides that during this six year phase-in period, nothing in the bill shall be considered to create a duty or obligation to quit using nonconforming vehicles.  The bill allows private organizations to purchase conforming vehicles under State of South Carolina contracts for purchasing such vehicles.  The bill also provides that schools may still contract with common carriers, provided that the carrier is not exclusively engaged in transporting students and the vehicle can carry thirty or more passengers.  This exception will continue to allow the use of large passenger buses for field trips.

The bill also provides that if a student is eligible to receive public school bus transportation, the parents or legal guardians must have the option of designating a child day care center or other before- or after-school program as the student's origin or destination for school transportation.

STATUS:
H.3300 (Act 301) was signed by the Governor on May 26.
APPROPRIATION BILLS

The General Assembly approved five appropriation bills this year:


H.4775, the General Appropriation Bill for 2000-01; 


H.3649, which includes, among other items,  appropriations from 1999-2000 projected surplus funds and from other specified revenue sources; temporary provisions which apply in the manner that the provisions of Part 1B of the general appropriations act for Fiscal Year 2000-2001 apply; a $138.4 million bond bill; and various permanent law provisions;


H.4660 and H.3699, both of which appropriate surplus fiscal year 1998-99 general fund revenues; and


H.4776, which appropriates Capital Reserve funds for 1999-2000.

H.4660, which was approved by the General Assembly in March, 2000, appropriates $6.3 million to cover the increase in health insurance costs for school districts and appropriates $2 million to the Comptroller General for implementation of an accounting system to meet financial reporting requirements established by the Government Accounting System Board for State and local governments.

H.3699, among other things, appropriates $84.6 million in surplus1998-99 funds and raises from $20,000 to $50,000 the homestead exemption for taxpayers who are age sixty-five or over, or legally blind or totally and permanently disabled.

The following spread sheets detail appropriations from all of these bills except H.4660 and H.3699.

Other major provisions included in these bills are also summarized in this document, categorized according to their subject matter.

APPROPRIATIONS

SPREAD SHEETS
MAJOR LEGISLATION 

WHICH DID NOT PASS
CHARTER SCHOOLS

The House and Senate passed differing versions of H.4336, a bill concerning charter schools.  A conference committee was appointed to work out these differences.  The committee issued a free conference report on the afternoon of June 22, but the mandatory sine die adjournment time prevented consideration of granting free conference powers and prevented consideration of the report.  The following is a summary of major components of the conference committee's report.  

Findings/Intent

The report includes a statement that "because the state no longer sanctions a system of segregated schools, it is the intent of the General Assembly that creation of this act encourages cultural diversity, educational improvement, and academic excellence.  Further, it is not the intent of the General Assembly to create a segregated school system but to continue to promote educational improvement and excellence in South Carolina."

Fingerprinting/Noncertified Teachers

The report amends the definition of "noncertified teacher" for purposes of charter schools.  "Noncertified teacher" is currently defined as an individual considered appropriately qualified for the subject matter taught, and who has been approved by the charter committee of the school.  The report strikes the requirement for approval by the school's charter committee, and adds a requirement for completion of at least one year of study at an accredited college or university and a requirement for state fingerprint review.

Teacher Qualifications for Teaching Core Subjects

The report provides that in either a new or converted charter school, a teacher teaching in the core academic areas of English/language arts, math, science, or social studies must be certified in those areas, or possess a baccalaureate or graduate degree in the subject he or she is hired to teach.

The report also provides that charter schools must hire administrative staff to oversee daily operation of the school, and at least one of the administrative staff must be certified in the field of school administration.

Racial Composition

The report included a requirement that the racial composition of the charter school enrollment reflect that of the school district or that of the targeted student population which the charter school proposes to serve, as differing by no more than twenty percent.

Percent Preference for Charter Committee Children

The report provided that children of the charter committee may be given enrollment priority, provided their enrollment does not constitute more than twenty percent of the enrollment of the charter school;

Interscholastic Participation

The report added a provision to the law that the charter contract may include participation in agreed upon interscholastic activities at a designated school within the sponsor district.

Enrollment Assurance

The report revised the current requirement that the charter school application must include a description of how the charter school plans to ensure that the enrollment of the school is similar to the racial composition of the school district, by providing that the charter school application must include a description of how the school plans to ensure that the enrollment is similar to the racial composition of the school district or the targeted student population the charter school proposes to serve and provide assurance that the school does not conflict with any school district desegregation plan or order in effect;

Consideration of Applicant's or School's Efforts to Obtain Racial Composition Percentage

The report provided that in the event that the racial composition of an applicant's or charter school's enrollment differs from the enrollment of the local school district or the targeted student population by more than twenty percent, despite its best efforts, the local school district's board shall consider the applicant's or the charter school's recruitment efforts and racial composition of the applicant pool in determining whether the applicant or charter school is operating in a non-discriminatory manner.  A finding by the local school district board that the applicant or charter school is operating in a racially discriminatory manner may justify the denial of a charter school application or the revocation of a charter school.  A finding by the local school district board that the applicant is not operating in a racially discriminating manner shall justify approval of the charter without regard to the percentage requirement if the application is acceptable in all other aspects.

Conditional Authorization of Charter

Current law provides that a local school board "may" conditionally authorize a charter school before the applicant has secured its space, equipment, facilities, and personnel if the applicant indicates such authority is necessary for it to meet the relevant statutory requirements.  The report changed this language so as to provide that a local school board "shall" conditionally authorize a charter school if the application is acceptable in all other aspects but the applicant has not secured its space, equipment, facilities, or personnel and the applicant verifies that such authority is necessary for it to acquire the space, equipment, facilities, or personnel needed to meet the relevant statutory requirements.

Duration of Charter Contract

Current law provides that a charter may be approved or renewed for a period not to exceed three school years.  The conference committee's report provided that a charter may be approved or renewed for a period of five school years, and provided that the charter may be revoked or not renewed pursuant to specified statutory provisions.  

Out of District Transfers to Charter Schools

The report provided that a child who resides in a school district other than the one where a charter school is located may attend a charter school outside his district of residence; however, the receiving charter school shall have authority to grant or deny permission for the student to attend according to the terms of the charter after in-district children have been given priority in enrollment.  The report also provided that the out-of-district enrollment shall not exceed twenty percent of the total enrollment of the charter school without the approval of the sponsoring district board of trustees.  The report also provided that the district sending children to the charter school must be notified immediately of the transferring students, and out-of-district students must be considered based on the order in which their applications are received.  The report also provided that if the twenty percent out-of-district enrollment is from one school district, then the sending district must concur with any additional students transferring from that district to attend the charter school.  The charter school to which the child is transferring shall be eligible for state and federal funding.

Surplus Buildings

The report includes a provision that if a school district declares a building surplus and chooses to sell or lease the building, a charter school's board of directors or a charter committee operating or applying within the district must be given first refusal to purchase or lease the building under no more than the same terms and conditions it would be offered to the public.

STATUS:
The House and the Senate passed differing versions of this bill

and a conference committee was appointed to work out those

differences.  That committee issued a free conference report

on the afternoon of June 22, but the mandatory sine die

adjournment time prevented consideration of granting free

conference powers and prevented consideration of the report.

FARM AND FOREST LANDS PROTECTION ACT

The Senate approved and sent to the House S.12, the Farm and Forest Lands Protection Act.  Under this bill, counties would be allowed to create voluntarily Priority Agricultural Land (PAL) areas and private landowners would be compensated for not developing their land.  The legislation establishes the State Priority Agricultural Land Board within the Department of Natural Resources.  The sixteen-member board, among other duties, shall allocate money from the Priority Agricultural Land Trust Fund (monies from this fund may only be spent on easements) to counties for the purpose of purchasing agricultural conservation easements.  All county programs to purchase these easements must be approved by the State Board.  The specific criteria, which the State Board employs to determine approval, are outlined within this bill.  The State Board must present the General Assembly with a report that, among other details, discloses the location and acreage of PAL areas and the number and acreage of conservation easements.

When a county council receives a request for the creation of a PAL, a public hearing must be conducted to determine if there is sufficient public interest to declare a PAL.  If there is, then the county council must establish a County Priority Agricultural Land Board.  This nine or eleven member board (appointed by the County Council), among other duties, shall propose PALs, submit a program for purchasing easements to the county council and State Board, adopt rules of procedure for purchasing easements, and purchase easements in the name of the county.  The County Board is the only entity certified to establish PALs and is responsible for holding public hearings regarding PALs and publicizing the approval of PALs.  The County Board must also submit an annual report to the State Board.  All proposed modifications of PAL areas will be handled by the County Board, which will submit its recommendations to the county council.  If the county has a planning commission, then the County Board will work in conjunction with the planning commission and report to the county council.

A county council has the power to accept or reject any PAL proposal or modification.  If the council decides to modify or reject a proposal, it must provide the County Board with a written statement of why the decision was made within ten days.  After a PAL is created, the County Board must make available to the public a description and a map of the area.  The county council shall take into consideration landowners’ (only those who own land within the PAL) applications for the purchase of agricultural conservation easements.  This bill outlines the terms and conditions of agricultural conservation easements.  These easements do not prevent the landowner from granting rights-of-way for the installation of certain pipes and lines (i.e. water, sewage, telecommunications, etc.).  They also do not prevent the construction of structures necessary for agricultural production, or used for the landowner’s principal residence.  A landowner whose land lies within a PAL area and who wishes to site or expand a permitted animal feeding operation is required to satisfy all pertinent DHEC regulations and the stipulation of this bill.

A County Board may determine the value of the land by one of two methods.  A Board may employ a numerical point system and if a seller disagrees with the value determination, they may obtain an independent state-certified general real estate appraiser.  The value is then calculated as the average between the numerical point system and the landowner’s appraisal.  The County Board may opt to retain a county assessor to determine the value of the land.  If the seller disagrees with the value in this case, he may obtain an independent state-certified general real estate appraiser.  The value is then calculated according to a formula delineated in the bill.  The bill also details how state funds are to be disbursed among county programs and makes current county purchase of development rights programs eligible for funding.  

Local governments are forbidden from enacting local laws that may unreasonably restrict agricultural production within PAL areas.  Agricultural production within PAL areas is exempt from being considered a nuisance in any local law unless there is a direct relation to public health and safety.  No land may be condemned without notifying the County Board.  

STATUS:
S.12 passed the Senate on March 15 and was sent to the House where the bill was referred to the Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.
GAMBLING CRUISE PROHIBITION

H.4491 addressed so-called “cruises to nowhere” in which individuals board a vessel that sails beyond the legal jurisdiction of the state in order to conduct gambling activities and then return to the state to disembark.  The bill provided that the intent of the General Assembly was to reinforce long-standing prohibitions on gambling by reiterating that the gambling offenses provided under the Constitution and laws of this State extend to any vessel in this State or to any United States or foreign documented vessel where the voyages begin and end in the waters of this State. 

Additionally, the bill prohibited gambling or the repair of gambling devices on a vessel in a voyage that begins and ends within this state.  The bill prohibited the operation of a vessel that transports persons to another vessel for the purpose of gambling, if both the transporting vessel and the vessel on which a gambling device is used or repaired begins and ends its voyage in South Carolina.  Under this bill, it was unlawful for a person to repair or use any gambling device on a vessel in this State.  

The legislation did not apply to gambling on cruises where the vessel docks at a port of call in another state or possession of the United States or foreign country and remains in that port for at least six hours so as to allow passengers the opportunity to disembark the vessel for sightseeing, shopping, or other tourism‑related activities at that port.

STATUS:
H.4491 was introduced in the Senate, read for the first time, and
referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee on April 6.  
THE PORTS AUTHORITY GOVERNING BOARD 

AND LABOR UNION AFFILIATION 

The House of Representatives approved and sent to the Senate H.4541 which pertains to the South Carolina Ports Authority Board and labor union affiliation.  This bill provides that a person may not be appointed to or continue to serve on the governing board of the South Carolina Ports Authority who is or becomes a member, associate, representative, or employee of a labor union, if the principal activities of the union relate to ports.

STATUS:
H.4541 passed the House on March 30 and was sent to the Senate where it was referred to the Transportation Committee.
RIGHT TO WORK LAWS

The House of Representatives approved and sent to the Senate H.3770, a bill strengthening South Carolina’s Right to Work laws which protect employees from practices which have the effect of making employment contingent upon membership in a labor union or organization.  The bill broadens the investigatory powers of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR) in disputes arising from alleged violations of the Right to Work laws.  In the course of investigating claims, the Director of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is authorized to hold hearings and enter a workplace in order to evaluate compliance.  The Director is authorized to assess a violator a civil penalty of not more than one hundred dollars for each offense. 

The bill makes several amendments to penalty provisions and broadens the scope of persons prohibited from participating in unlawful labor agreements which violate an employee’s right to work by allowing for penalties and/or causes of action against any person for violations of the chapter.  Current law allows for such actions to be taken against employers, only.  The legislation also creates a private cause of action under which a person who has been denied employment or deprived of continued employment through force, intimidation, obstruction, interference, or through other means in violation of the State’s Right to Work provisions is entitled to recover from the employer actual damages as well as punitive damages awarded at the discretion of the court or jury.

STATUS:
H.3770 passed the House on February 3 and was sent to the Senate where it was referred to the Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee.

TATTOOING

A bill that would have authorized tattooing in South Carolina did not pass this year.  S.120 would have permitted tattooing of persons over the age of 21, so long as that person’s age is verified through use of a picture identification card.  The bill would have permitted tattooing of individuals under 21 with parental and/or guardian consent.  Except for certain medical reasons, this bill would have made it illegal to tattoo any part of the head, face, or neck of another person.  The bill also required tattoo artists to be licensed and regulated by the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC).  

STATUS:
S.120 was recommitted to the House Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee on March 24.

TRUTH IN SENTENCING / ADVISORY SENTENCING GUIDELINES

H.3108 would have extended the provisions of Truth in Sentencing to all crimes in South Carolina requiring that offenders serve a minimum of 85% of their sentence.  (Act 83 of 1995 provided Truth in Sentencing for only those offenses with maximum possible penalties of 20 years or more.)  This bill phased out parole, and offenders who commit their crimes after the effective date of this bill would not have been eligible for parole release.  

The legislation established Advisory Sentencing Guidelines to complement Truth in Sentencing for all offenses with maximum possible penalties of one year or more; the guidelines weighed the seriousness of the current offense with the offender’s prior record to determine an appropriate sentence.  

The legislation also established the South Carolina Truth in Military Confinement Act.  Under this legislation, military personnel who are sentenced to a period of confinement pursuant to a general, special, or summary court martial would have served the full term of confinement, without possibility for early release.

STATUS:
H.3108 was recommitted to the Senate Judiciary Committee on March 28.


The Legislative Update is on the Worldwide Web.  Visit the South Carolina General Assembly Home Page (www.scstatehouse.net) and click on the "Quick Find Guide."  On the next screen, click on "Legislative Updates."  This will list all of the Legislative Updates by date.  Click on the date you need.
2

