South Carolina General Assembly
113th Session, 1999-2000

Download This Bill in Microsoft Word format

Bill 3986

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

                    Current Status

Bill Number:                      3986
Type of Legislation:              Concurrent Resolution CR
Introducing Body:                 House
Introduced Date:                  19990427
Primary Sponsor:                  Parks
All Sponsors:                     Parks, Allen, Allison, Altman, Askins, 
                                  Bailey, Bales, Barfield, Barrett, Battle, 
                                  Beck, Bowers, Breeland, G. Brown, H. Brown, 
                                  J. Brown, T. Brown, Campsen, Canty, Carnell, 
                                  Cato, Chellis, Clyburn, Cobb-Hunter, Cooper, 
                                  Cotty, Dantzler, Davenport, Delleney, 
                                  Easterday, Edge, Emory, Fleming, Gamble, 
                                  Gilham, Gourdine, Govan, Hamilton, Harrell, 
                                  Harris, Harrison, Harvin, Haskins, Hawkins, 
                                  Hayes, J. Hines, M. Hines, Hinson, Howard, 
                                  Inabinett, Jennings, Keegan, Kelley, Kennedy, 
                                  Kirsh, Klauber, Knotts, Koon, Lanford, Law, 
                                  Leach, Lee, Limehouse, Littlejohn, Lloyd, 
                                  Loftis, Lourie, Lucas, Mack, Maddox, Martin, 
                                  Mason, McCraw, McGee, McKay, M. McLeod, 
                                  W. McLeod, McMahand, Meacham-Richardson, 
                                  Miller, Moody-Lawrence, J.H. Neal, Neilson, 
                                  Ott, Phillips, Pinckney, Quinn, Rhoad, Rice, 
                                  Riser, Robinson, Rodgers, Rutherford, 
                                  Sandifer, Scott, Seithel, Sharpe, Sheheen, 
                                  Simrill, D. Smith, F. Smith, J. Smith, 
                                  R. Smith, Stille, Stuart, Taylor, Townsend, 
                                  Tripp, Trotter, Vaughn, Walker, Webb, Whatley, 
                                  Whipper, Wilder, Wilkes, Wilkins, Witherspoon, 
                                  Woodrum and Young-Brickell
Drafted Document Number:          l:\council\bills\ggs\22297cm99.doc
Date Bill Passed both Bodies:     19990428
Subject:                          Mt. Herman Baptist Church of Greenwood 
                                  County, Resolutions


Body    Date      Action Description                     Com     Leg Involved
______  ________  ______________________________________ _______ ____________
House   19990428  Received from Senate
Senate  19990428  Introduced, adopted, returned
                  with concurrence
House   19990427  Introduced, adopted, sent to Senate

                             Versions of This Bill

View additional legislative information at the LPITS web site.

(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, the Mt. Herman Baptist Church of Greenwood County is celebrating its one hundred eleventh anniversary; and

Whereas, the Mt. Herman Baptist Church originated from a Sunday school that was organized to teach the gospel to children and adults within the community that surrounds the church under a brush arbor; and

Whereas, Brother Coy Wallace was the Church's founder and its first Sunday school teacher; and

Whereas, Brother Wallace and other dedicated members of the community joined forces with the knowledge and strength given to them by our Heavenly Father to construct the first Mt. Herman Baptist Church in April, 1888; and

Whereas, today, the Mt. Herman Baptist Church congregation worships in its new church that was constructed under the leadership of Reverend Ivory Goodwin and dedicated to our Lord and Savior in August, 1980; and

Whereas, the following have answered the call to pastor Mt. Herman Baptist Church over the course of its one hundred eleven year history: Reverend Blocker, Reverend Hampton Siegler, Reverend James Carter, Reverend Elijah Daniels, Reverend W. H. Hightower, Reverend Calvin Smith, Reverend Finnesy, Reverend Ivory Goodwin, Reverend Norris Turner, and Reverend Donald Brooks; and

Whereas, over the years Mt. Herman has grown and toiled with the utmost dedication and care to proclaim its Christian mission; and

Whereas, Mt. Herman Baptist Church has played a pivotal role in the history of Greenwood County for many generations and today flourishes as a beacon of hope and good will; and

Whereas, the members of the General Assembly are pleased to have the opportunity to recognize Mt. Herman Baptist Church on the joyful occasion of its one hundred eleventh anniversary which will be celebrated on May 16, 1999. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

That the General Assembly of the State of South Carolina, by this resolution, recognizes and congratulates Mt. Herman Baptist Church of Greenwood County upon the celebration of its one hundred eleventh anniversary.

Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the congregation of Mt. Herman Baptist Church, in the care of the church's pastor, Reverend Donald Brooks.


This web page was last updated on Wednesday, December 9, 2009 at 9:26 A.M.