South Carolina General Assembly
121st Session, 2015-2016

Download This Bill in Microsoft Word format

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

H. 4353


House Resolution
Sponsors: Reps. Johnson, Alexander, Allison, Anderson, Anthony, Atwater, Bales, Ballentine, Bamberg, Bannister, Bedingfield, Bernstein, Bingham, Bowers, Bradley, Brannon, G.A. Brown, R.L. Brown, Burns, Chumley, Clary, Clemmons, Clyburn, Cobb-Hunter, Cole, Collins, Corley, H.A. Crawford, Crosby, Daning, Delleney, Dillard, Douglas, Duckworth, Erickson, Felder, Finlay, Forrester, Funderburk, Gagnon, Gambrell, George, Gilliard, Goldfinch, Govan, Hamilton, Hardee, Hart, Hayes, Henderson, Henegan, Herbkersman, Hicks, Hill, Hiott, Hixon, Hodges, Horne, Hosey, Howard, Huggins, Jefferson, Jordan, Kennedy, King, Kirby, Knight, Limehouse, Loftis, Long, Lowe, Lucas, Mack, McCoy, McEachern, McKnight, M.S. McLeod, W.J. McLeod, Merrill, Mitchell, D.C. Moss, V.S. Moss, Murphy, Nanney, Neal, Newton, Norman, Norrell, Ott, Parks, Pitts, Pope, Putnam, Quinn, Ridgeway, Riley, Rivers, Robinson-Simpson, Rutherford, Ryhal, Sandifer, Simrill, G.M. Smith, G.R. Smith, J.E. Smith, Sottile, Southard, Spires, Stavrinakis, Stringer, Tallon, Taylor, Thayer, Tinkler, Toole, Weeks, Wells, Whipper, White, Whitmire, Williams, Willis and Yow
Document Path: l:\council\bills\gm\24493cz15.docx

Introduced in the House on June 17, 2015
Adopted by the House on June 17, 2015

Summary: Aynor High School Softball Team


     Date      Body   Action Description with journal page number
   6/17/2015  House   Introduced and adopted (House Journal-page 32)

View the latest legislative information at the website



(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, the South Carolina House of Representatives is pleased to learn that the members of the Aynor High School softball team of Horry County took top honors at the state competition held at South Florence High School on Friday, May 22, 2015; and

Whereas, in the three-game series, Andrew Jackson High School won the first night's opening game 4-3 in twelve innings, and Aynor evened the series with an 8-5 win two nights later; and

Whereas, Andrew Jackson jumped to a 4-0 lead in the bottom of the first inning in the final game as a result of three errors by Aynor's Lady Blue Jackets; and

Whereas, when the Jackson Volunteers spread the lead to 5-0 in the second inning, neither the Lady Blue Jackets nor their fans admitted defeat, and Shelby Cox slashed a fastball into the right-field corner in the third inning, giving Aynor an inside-the-park home run; and

Whereas, in the fourth inning, the Lady Blue Jackets chiseled at the Volunteer lead as Aynor's third-baseman Taylor Charlton singled, Layna Johnson took a base when hit by a pitch, and Morgan Elliott walloped a three-run homer over the right-center field wall; and

Whereas, Aynor mounted a 7-5 lead in the fifth inning on a single by Hannah Seaver, an all-state senior headed to Furman, followed by an infield single from Jessie Johnson and a three-run home run over the left field wall by thirteen-year-old eighth-grader Layna Johnson, her fourth homer of the season; and

Whereas, after Andrew Jackson tied the score with a pair of runs in bottom of the fifth inning, Aynor's Hannah Page hit a one-out triple into the right-center field gap and scored what would prove the game-winning run on a sacrifice fly to right field by Shelby Cox in the top of the sixth inning; and

Whereas, the Lady Blue Jackets' pitcher, Brooke Elliott, who pitched all twenty-six innings of the three game series, held the score at 8-7 to capture the state trophy with the best-of-three-series win over Andrew Jackson; and

Whereas, in a sport that demands strength, strategy, and speed, Aynor garnered the team's first state softball championship since a Class A win twenty-five years ago and finished the season with a 32-8 record; and

Whereas, Head Coach Sandie Jones, who has led the team for seven years, along with assistant coaches Pedy Roberts and Tony Mills capitalized on their own athletic ability and training to hone a championship team and teach these athletes lessons that will prove invaluable through life, both on and off the diamond; and

Whereas, the members of the South Carolina House of Representatives value the pride and recognition that the Aynor softball players have brought to their school and their community and look to hear of their continued achievements in the days ahead. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives:

That the members of the South Carolina House of Representatives, by this resolution, congratulate the Aynor High School softball team, coaches, and school officials for winning the 2015 Class AA State Championship title.

Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be provided to Principal Janet Lawrence-Patten and Coach Sandie Jones.


This web page was last updated on June 23, 2015 at 12:51 PM