South Carolina General Assembly
124th Session, 2021-2022

Download This Bill in Microsoft Word format

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

H. 4436


Concurrent Resolution
Sponsors: Reps. Forrest, Alexander, Allison, Anderson, Atkinson, Bailey, Ballentine, Bamberg, Bannister, Bennett, Bernstein, Blackwell, Bradley, Brawley, Brittain, Bryant, Burns, Bustos, Calhoon, Carter, Caskey, Chumley, Clyburn, Cobb-Hunter, Cogswell, Collins, B. Cox, W. Cox, Crawford, Dabney, Daning, Davis, Dillard, Elliott, Erickson, Felder, Finlay, Fry, Gagnon, Garvin, Gatch, Gilliam, Gilliard, Govan, Haddon, Hardee, Hart, Hayes, Henderson-Myers, Henegan, Herbkersman, Hewitt, Hill, Hiott, Hixon, Hosey, Howard, Huggins, Hyde, Jefferson, J.E. Johnson, J.L. Johnson, K.O. Johnson, Jones, Jordan, Kimmons, King, Kirby, Ligon, Long, Lowe, Lucas, Magnuson, Martin, Matthews, May, McCabe, McCravy, McDaniel, McGarry, McGinnis, McKnight, J. Moore, T. Moore, Morgan, D.C. Moss, V.S. Moss, Murphy, Murray, B. Newton, W. Newton, Nutt, Oremus, Ott, Parks, Pendarvis, Pope, Rivers, Robinson, Rose, Rutherford, Sandifer, Simrill, G.M. Smith, G.R. Smith, M.M. Smith, Stavrinakis, Stringer, Taylor, Tedder, Thayer, Thigpen, Trantham, Weeks, West, Wetmore, Wheeler, White, Whitmire, R. Williams, S. Williams, Willis, Wooten and Yow
Document Path: l:\council\bills\rm\1181cz21.docx

Introduced in the House on June 8, 2021
Introduced in the Senate on June 9, 2021
Adopted by the General Assembly on June 9, 2021

Summary: House concurrent--Gilbert HS baseball champs


     Date      Body   Action Description with journal page number
    6/8/2021  House   Introduced and adopted (House Journal-page 26)
    6/9/2021  Senate  Introduced, adopted, returned with concurrence 
                        (Senate Journal-page 2)

View the latest legislative information at the website



(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, the South Carolina General Assembly is pleased to learn that the members of the Gilbert High School baseball team took top honors at the state championship competition on Saturday, June 5, 2021, defeating West-Oak 12-3 in the deciding game of the best-of-three series; and

Whereas, playing at a rainy Harley Park at the University of South Carolina Upstate, the Indians finished by hoisting a championship trophy testifying to the Gilbert program's fifth state title overall and its first in 3A. Previously, the team had won a title in 1A, as well as three in 2A; and

Whereas, four of Gilbert's five baseball titles have come to the school under the superlative leadership of Head Coach Ashley Burnett, who is in his twenty-fifth season at Gilbert and has won more than five hundred games. Coach Burnett is ably supported by his outstanding assistant coaches, Jimmy Frost, Jason Cochcroft, Rob Hardy, Joey Leo, Clark Mullins, James Satterfield, and Wesley Williams; and

Whereas, at the title game, Gilbert's mental toughness was tested when West-Oak cut the Indians' lead to 6-3 after the first inning. The game was then delayed for two hours and eleven minutes, with Gilbert leading 6-3. Catcher Ashby Vining said players stayed relaxed; and

Whereas, after the delay, the Indians scored twice in the fifth on RBI singles by Dylan Massey and Joey Parker. Gilbert scored three more in the sixth, the last run coming on Vining's solo homer; and

Whereas, Vining, a Coker signee, was 2 for 3 with a pair of home runs and three RBIs. Senior Edwin Amerson pitched a complete game to win his final high school start. The Montreat signee was the winning pitcher in both of the Indians' victories during the series. Amerson allowed three runs, all in the first, on eight hits while walking two and striking out three; and

Whereas, to honor the Indians' title win, the Lexington County Blowfish proclaimed Gilbert America Day at Lexington County Baseball Stadium during one of its games; and

Whereas, members of the championship team are Preston Price, Chance Jennings, Jackson Lineberry, Cooper Burkett, Alex Dinkins, Jamison Melton, Mason Chewning, Luke Taylor, Aaron Sox, Ashby Vining, Joseph Parker, Michael Black, Edwin Amerson, Landon Snelling, Nathan Reynolds, Taylor Armstrong, Whit Rucker, Austin Waters, Dylan Massey, Cooper Johns, and Connor Camp-Smith; and

Whereas, proud of these fine student athletes, the General Assembly appreciates the recognition the Gilbert High School baseball players have brought to their school and community, and the members look to hear of many more victories for the school in coming seasons. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

That the members of the South Carolina General Assembly, by this resolution, congratulate the Gilbert High School baseball team for an impressive season and celebrate the Indians' capture of the 2021 Class AAA State Championship title.

Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be presented to Principal Jacob W. Nelson and Coach Ashley Burnett of Gilbert High School.


This web page was last updated on June 9, 2021 at 3:47 PM