

# SOUTH CAROLINA REVENUE AND FISCAL AFFAIRS OFFICE STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED FISCAL IMPACT

<u>www.rfa.sc.gov</u> • (803)734-3793

This fiscal impact statement is produced in compliance with the South Carolina Code of Laws and House and Senate rules. The focus of the analysis is on governmental expenditure and revenue impacts and may not provide a comprehensive summary of the legislation.

**Bill Number:** S. 0059 Introduced on January 14, 2025

Subject: Increased Penalties for Driving Without a License

Requestor: Senate Transportation

RFA Analyst(s): Griffith

Impact Date: April 28, 2025

## **Fiscal Impact Summary**

This bill increases the penalties of a first offense for driving a motor vehicle without a driver's license from a maximum of \$100 to \$300 and specifies that the individual may be fined and imprisoned. The bill also increases the penalties of a second offense from \$500 to \$600 and increases the imprisonment time from forty-five days to a maximum of sixty days. The bill further specifies that for a third or subsequent offense, the convicted person must either be imprisoned or confined to the person's place of residence pursuant to the Home Detention Act.

This bill may result in an increase in the number of magistrates and municipal court cases. While these are locally funded courts, Judicial offers administrative support for these courts. Judicial anticipates being able to manage any additional responsibilities due to this bill. The Department of Corrections and the Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services (PPP) indicate that they can manage the provisions of the bill with existing appropriations. Therefore, there is no expenditure impact to either agency.

The expenditure impact on the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is pending, contingent upon a further response from the agency.

The Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office (RFA) anticipates that the bill may increase local expenses due to the potential increase in the jail system. However, the amount of expenses will depend upon the increase in the number of individuals being imprisoned and the length of the imprisonment. Additionally, RFA surveyed all counties and the Municipal Association of South Carolina (MASC) to determine the fiscal impact of the bill on local governments. Florence County does not anticipate an expenditure impact. MASC indicates that the amended penalties will make second offenses ineligible to be heard in municipal courts, which may result in a transfer of cases heard by municipal courts.

This bill may result in an increase in the fines and fees collected in court. Court fines and fees are distributed to the General Fund, Other Funds, and local funds. Therefore, RFA anticipates this bill may result in a change to General Fund, Other Funds, and local revenue due to the change in fines and fees collections in court.

## **Explanation of Fiscal Impact**

## Introduced on January 14, 2025 State Expenditure

This bill increases the penalties of a first offense for driving a motor vehicle without a driver's license from a maximum of \$100 to \$300 and specifies that the individual may be fined and imprisoned. The bill also increases the penalties of a second offense from \$500 to \$600 and increases the imprisonment time from forty-five days to a maximum of sixty days. The bill further specifies that for a third or subsequent offense, the convicted person must either be imprisoned or confined to the person's place of residence pursuant to the Home Detention Act.

This bill may result in an increase in the number of magistrates and municipal court cases. While these are locally funded courts, Judicial offers administrative support for these courts. Judicial anticipates being able to manage any additional responsibilities due to this bill. The Department of Corrections and PPP indicate that they can manage the provisions of the bill with existing appropriations. Therefore, there is no expenditure impact to either agency.

The expenditure impact on DMV is pending, contingent upon a further response from the agency.

#### **State Revenue**

This bill increases the penalties of a first offense for driving a motor vehicle without a driver's license from a maximum of \$100 to \$300. For a second offense, the fine is increased from \$500 to \$600. For a third or subsequent offense, the bill adds a fine of \$1,000, in addition to imprisonment or confinement under home detention. This bill may result in an increase in the fines and fees collected in court. Court fines and fees are distributed to the General Fund, Other Funds, and local funds. Therefore, RFA anticipates this bill may result in a change to General Fund and Other Funds revenue due to the change in fines and fees collections in court.

### **Local Expenditure**

This bill increases the penalties of a first offense for driving a motor vehicle without a driver's license from a maximum of \$100 to \$300 and specifies that the individual may be fined and imprisoned. The bill also increases the penalties of a second offense from \$500 to \$600 and increases the imprisonment time from forty-five days to a maximum of sixty days. The bill further specifies that for a third or subsequent offense, the convicted person must either be imprisoned or confined to the person's place of residence pursuant to the Home Detention Act.

RFA anticipates that the bill may increase local expenses due to the potential increase in the jail system. However, the amount of expenses will depend upon the increase in the number of individuals being imprisoned and the length of the imprisonment. Additionally, RFA surveyed all counties and the MASC to determine the fiscal impact on local governments. Florence County does not anticipate that the bill will have an expenditure impact. MASC indicates that the amended penalties will make second offenses ineligible to be heard in municipal courts, which may result in a transfer of cases heard by municipal courts.

#### **Local Revenue**

This bill increases the penalties of a first offense for driving a motor vehicle without a driver's license from a maximum of \$100 to \$300 and specifies that the individual may be fined and imprisoned. The bill also increases the penalties of a second offense from \$500 to \$600 and increases the imprisonment time from forty-five days to a maximum of sixty days. The bill further specifies that for a third or subsequent offense, the convicted person must either be imprisoned or confined to the person's place of residence pursuant to the Home Detention Act.

This bill may result in an increase in the fines and fees collected in court. Court fines and fees are distributed to the General Fund, Other Funds, and local funds. Therefore, RFA anticipates this bill may result in a change to local revenue due to the change in fines and fees collections in court.

Frank A. Rainwater, Executive Director