South Carolina General Assembly
111th Session, 1995-1996

Bill 3260

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

                    Current Status

Bill Number:                       3260
Type of Legislation:               Concurrent Resolution CR
Introducing Body:                  House
Introduced Date:                   19950117
Primary Sponsor:                   Littlejohn 
All Sponsors:                      Littlejohn and Wells 
Drafted Document Number:           BBM\9754JM.95
Date Bill Passed both Bodies:      19950118
Subject:                           Spartanburg Methodist College
                                   Men's Soccer Team


Body    Date      Action Description                       Com     Leg Involved
______  ________  _______________________________________  _______ ____________

House   19950118  Received from Senate
Senate  19950118  Introduced, adopted, returned
                  with concurrence
House   19950117  Introduced, adopted, sent to Senate

View additional legislative information at the LPITS web site.

(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, Spartanburg Methodist College won the 1994 NJCAA national championship in men's soccer; and

Whereas, Spartanburg Methodist College (SMC) is already known as a powerhouse in baseball and basketball and is now recognized as a soccer power on the national level; and

Whereas, the SMC men's soccer coach, Pete Petersen, led the team to a superb 20-1-1 record in 1994, and he was named Region 10 Coach of the Year, South Coach of the Year, and the NJCAA National Coach of the Year; and

Whereas, the 1994 SMC men's soccer team won many honors and attained much recognition, including the following: team members Richard Reid and Carlos McGregor were named All-Americans; Hugo LaReservee was selected National Tournament Most Valuable Player on Defense; Carlos McGregor, Richard Reid, Russell Sipple, Sappia Venn, and Austin Williams were chosen for the NSCAA All South Team; Richard Reid was named Region 10 Player of the Year; Hugo Biggar, Gary High, Hugo LaReservee, Carlos McGregor, Russell Sipple, Sappia Venn, and Austin Williams were selected for the Region 10 Team; Tim Liparulo and Austin Williams were voted by the team as Most Improved; Franco Ruiz was accorded National All Tournament Team honors; and Gary High received the Unsung Hero (Coach's Award) for his two years' performance consisting of thirty-four goals, twenty-four assists; and ninety-two points; and

Whereas, the entire team for 1994 exhibited unity, hard work, dedication, great skill, and enthusiasm and has made the entire State of South Carolina very proud. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

That the General Assembly of the State of South Carolina, by this resolution, congratulates Spartanburg Methodist College on winning the 1994 men's soccer national championship.

Be it further resolved that this resolution be forwarded to the men's soccer team of Spartanburg Methodist College.